Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

UnThread

by tigerclaw - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Warp Gates to a parallel world are opening up in the realm. The gates are spawning monsters, and burn whatever gets near them. Using the Super Needle 9000, you must take apart the threads of Dimensional Essence (DE) that keep the warp gates open and the monsters in this plane, before the destroy the whole realm.
To Win: Close all the gates and defeat all the monsters
You lose if: All five cities are destroyed or you run out of HP
Controls:
Hold LMB down to start "unthreading" the nearest gate
Hold RMB down to start "unthreading" the nearest monster
Bug Fixes
* If you got a "no such file as 'gate.lua'" error, that is now fixed

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1907Coolness24%

Comments

ViliX says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:37am

You should probably polish this game a bit more :/

Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Told me that love.dll was missing.

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Also missing love.dll :(

jomomomo says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Can't play windows games. Can we get a web version?

jpverkamp says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Chrome thinks it's malicious.

tigerclaw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 7:06pm

I would like to formally apologize for, figuratively, disappearing off the face of the planet after just posting this.

@jpverkamp The executable is now in a .zip file. You should be able to just download it and unzip it on your computer without Chrome thinking it's malicious now.

@ViliX Yeah, I know. Could you maybe elaborate more on what you think needs more polish?

@jomomomo As this was made in Love2D, I would have to use a different engine in order to do that. I'm not sure if there is enough time left. I apologize for not addressing this earlier.

Natrium729 says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 2:48am

I was not quite sure about what to do, but I finally realized that staying near a portal hurts you. I then closed all the portal before killing all the monster. With more mechanics, better graphics and some explanations, it could become something quite interesting.

bluesky says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 3:07pm

Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]