Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Stanley Squeaks and the Emerald Burrito

by Two Scoop Games - Jam Entry

|____| |____||______.' |___| |________||_____|\____| |_____| `.__.' |____|

|__| |____| |___.| READ BEFORE YOUR ADVENTURE! |___| |___| \_____|

|____| |____||______.' |___| |________||_____|\____| |_____| `.__.' |____|

Stanley Squeaks is an adventuring hamster on a quest to obtain the Emerald Burrito. Help Stanley solve puzzles and avoid traps in an ancient temple. This game is a puzzle platformer where the blocks you touch on the way to the treasure are destroyed on the way out, making it difficult to get out alive!

Credits:
Alex Bezuska - Art
Eric Lathrop - Code
Wai Ying Lam - Code

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#65Humor(Jam)3.59
#82Fun(Jam)3.64
#183Overall(Jam)3.51
#199Graphics(Jam)3.84
#212Innovation(Jam)3.36
#222Mood(Jam)3.38
#392Audio(Jam)3.04
#679Theme(Jam)2.22

Comments

barryrowe says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:28am

The flapping hat is my favorite animation. Super good mechanic, great job!

EndingChaos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:59am

Fantastic entry!!! Great job guys! Very original concept!

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:14am

The character jumping animation is fantastic. I had a lot of fun with this entry.

mclewis says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:19am

Fun game with great art and animations. I don't see how this ties into connected worlds though, and I wish I could move during the skull laser shooting.

Piat says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:16am

Cute art :)

Literal Games says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:10pm

Loved the hamster but the gameplay was rather repetitive

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Nice puzzles. The hamster is adorable. However, is it ok to throw him off the edge just to hear his death scream?

Rozaxe says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Funny game !
The hamster is so cute !

KigurumiDevs says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:20pm

the graphics are nice and the hamster is cute! just the jumping sounds are veeeery annoying.

Wertle says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:59am

I love the mechanic of needing to mind where you step in order to set yourself up for the escape. I think the level with symmetry on both sides is actually the best level to teach this, though I wish there was feedback on the thingies I landed on so I could remember which ones I had touched. Nice work on those animations! Note about jumping, it can be handy to allow a jump the first few frames into a an in-air state, to help situations where you're right on the edge of a platform and need to move-jump and fall off the edge when you intend to jump. Nice work! YAAAY!

mildmojo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:45am

Were the log removals random? I got an unwinnable version of the last level three times (all logs removed between the rightmost two stone platforms) before a winnable version showed up (some logs not removed). The first time I played the level with the black platforms and the burrito below the start, the skull didn't destroy anything after I collected the burrito, making the level unwinnable. The second time worked fine.

I wanted the hamster's jump to have a little bit more suspension time, but otherwise the controls felt pretty good. The art was lovely. The skull in particular was nicely made and the character animation was well done. I liked the decision to freeze the character when collecting the burrito.

The world needs more gemstone burritos.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:57am

I am going to add a note since we can't change this in the jam version of the game. The skull destroys only the blocks you touched, we're going to add some sort of indication of that like glowing or cracks on the blocks as you touch them.

lorniebear says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:42pm

Really like it! I really like the idea of the blocks that you touch getting destroyed! I managed to finish the game!

ajopart says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:14pm

I don't see the direct/clear link with the theme in this entry, BUT...
- Nice graphics (I like Indy Hamster)
- Perfect animations
- Nice scream when falling
- Original gameplay (didn't realize how the destruction mechanism works)
- Funny
- Hat

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Super cute entry! The death scream made dying that much more fun (which is good, because I died a lot).

slumber says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:22pm

nice entry, i like the little touches like the hat and death scream - really brings the game to life. as others have said i don't see the connecting worlds theme. great job!

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:44am

Love the premise. :) Animations were slick too. It gets a bit repetitive after a while to watch the skull destroy the platforms. It's a cool mechanic but I wish I could skip it after seeing it a few times. Still a very solid game.


PS: 10 points for you mentioning Silent Running in my games comments. That's one of the biggest inspirations :)

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:14pm

This was a fun little game. Great idea, and I loved the cute graphics. Overall great job! :)

Crefossus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:59am

Maybe you could have each tile you touch glow the green laser color so that the connection between it being destroyed is more clear.

The art style is pretty polished.

The time it takes to destroy the platforms seems long if you have to redo the level multiple times. The freeze feels a little glitchy/hitchy .. maybe there is a way to make that feel smoother.

Music would help the feel a lot. The sfx are good overall but could get polished off.

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:40pm

Awesome graphics, amazing animation. My only complaint is that the sounds cut off too soon. Very awesome game nonetheless.

Tom Gardiner says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Sound effects were great, the little guy was adorable. However, I think the theme could have been a bit stronger, but I see it there nonetheless. Very fun apart from the short length, and I'd love to play a longer version.

steve says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:14pm

I didn't initially make the connection between the blocks I touched being the ones which were destroyed, I think you need to teach the player that mechanic a little as I finished the entire game before realising that was the case!

Interesting idea though, and very cute graphics.

Yyeeearrrrrrgghhhhh!

igoramendola says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:22pm

Ohhh, super cute! The graphics are very nice, as the sounds.
I didn't realize that the blocks destroyed was those that I touch until I saw your comment here (I finished it first). But that's a quite interesting concept. That "bad" thing is that the character jumps so high that makes easy to win because he doesn't have to touch many blocks. I want it harder! hahaha xD
I didn't unterstand the relation with the theme (maybe an intro could explain it), but it's a great work ;)

varun says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:33pm

Loved the puzzles in this! Forced me to think ahead regarding every step!

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Took me a bit to understand how it worked, but once I did, it's quite a fun idea for a puzzle game.

pansapiens says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:32am

Great fun ! Love the little mouse & his idle animations, very cute. I think you did well to strongly hint at the block destruction mechanic, without making it so explicit that it was obvious from the beginning what was going to happen; that moment when I realized what was going on ... *facepalm* :)

scriptblocks says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:47pm

Really great. I had to reload screen once but other then that it was excellent.

ceosol says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:34pm

The jumping felt a little off for sometimes having to jump on a ledge half your size. I do not know if the climbing the walls was intentional or not, but you let the players know about it. I redid the last level at least 15 times before the skull opened up the wall for me to get through. Then I realized that you can just climb the walls.

Please do not take this to mean I did not like the get. I did. It was fun entry, good job.

sanjayksingh says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:39am

Took me a little while to get motions in the game! Love the animation, the little guys movements during 'idling' and his deathscream. Graphics were a treat. Great job!

0x0961h says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:12am

Hamster looks very cute. I'd wish "destroying" animation be a little bit faster. But, anyway, mechanic is great, good job! :)

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:32pm

This is a really neat idea and the animations are cute.

NickZangus says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:28pm

Great concept! Well done!

vividhelix says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:14pm

Sweet animation, and the dying sound made me literally laugh :) Good job!

Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Cute game. The mechanics were a bit hard to understand at first though, and I was under the impression that hamster wasn't that easy to control. Too bad there wasn't any music but the dying scream is awesome XD.

RawboSaurX says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:06am

There are some very cool mechanics in this entry, mainly the stone head that removes the platforms you've touched. That's the number one thing about this here. Animations are a bit weird, and could need some work. The scream when he falls gets me laughing everytime, though. So funny xD

Raphy says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:41am

Cool concept, I love the falling sound ! I love the concept of removing platforms you touched on the way back, with a bit of more variety it could be great.

Ted Brown says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:56pm

Played it all the way through, which means I heard the hilarious and cute and awful hamster scream MULTIPLE times! Good mechanic, well executed.

Oxeren says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:00am

Nice game, though not sure about theme. Liked the main character and his animations :)

frogcheese says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Really great idea for a puzzle platformer! Don't have many criticisms, just that the jumping sound is a bit too loud and that the time between grabbing the gem and the platforms being destroyed should be shorter to facilitate replayability. It's a minor thing, though - I had fun with your game. : )

Erkberg says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Very nice concept and execution. Love the death scream! :)

rantt says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 2:09am

Worth it just for the scream...lol. Fun game, good art and sounds wish there was some music. Had a blast playing though, great job!

eatsleepindie says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 4:18am

Great art and level design. Really enjoyed Stanleys animations.

Sep 7, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Nice graphics, cute story! I included it in part 19 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/ljAqElzAd_Q

Sandcrawler says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 9:40pm

The art was great in this one, my biggest gripe was the controls did not feel very fluid.

I recorded my playthough of this, it will be uploaded to my channel on Monday the 15th. http://www.youtube.com/user/Ythmevge

rojo says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 11:21pm

Some music would have been nice. Not sure I'm seeing the theme connection. Also I thought the game was a little easy. The art was pretty solid, though, and I think the core mechanic was pretty cool.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]