Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Heaven from Hell

by Wevel - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Now with Untested Linux support.

This is my first entry into Ludum Dare so it probably isn't very good. I'm sorry about the sound but there is a mute button if you get too annoyed with it. Also the reason it's difficult is because I only had time to make 4 levels.

Goal:
Collect all the keys to unlock the chest and exit each level.

Controls:
-WASD to move
-Mouse to look around
-Space to jump
-E to swap between worlds

No controller support.

There are only 4 levels as i didn't have time to make any more. The game is capable of having more levels but they haven't been made yet.

Created with:
-Unity 3D
-Blender
-Photoshop
-Audacity
-BFXR

Thank you for playing my game.

Chrome seems to say most LD games are a malicious download. You can the downloads tab and click recover malicious file to get the game. It isn't a malicious download.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#377Theme3.48
#694Humor2.13
#800Fun2.77
#895Mood2.58
#913Graphics2.52
#926Innovation2.64
#926Audio1.80
#1015Overall2.69

Comments

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:27pm

Well made game, a little to hard though I can not really jump over the trees without falling down, maybe I am to bad at this =) I will try again later.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:46pm

I liked the game, but change the music please

sekaru says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:34pm

The game was okay, but the music is definitely something I would change.

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:12pm

Really good attempt, but a few comments:
-It is possible to complete the first level by jumping through the fence in the blue world rather than doing all that complicated jumping.

-There is a special place in hell for first person jumping mechanics. They are very difficult to make fun, because in first person you have very little awareness of where your feet are. This game would probably work better in third-person.

I didn't mind the sounds, though they were a bit repetitive.

danbo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:52pm

Flagged by Chrome as a malicious download. No idea what can be done about it...

MintArcade says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Nice game, similar to mine ;). Gameplay solid, but I manage to squeeze myself through fence in first level by accident, it is still very very very cool game! Thank you.

dook says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Not bat at all for a first game! I'm not a big fan of first person jumping puzzles so I wont bother you about them :P But the use of the theme was solid and the graphics looked good even if they are super simple. Keep up the good work.

PowerSpark says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Cool, needs more obvious instructions, looks a lot like my entry too:
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-30/?action=preview&uid=38755

Andro Dars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Well done submitting your first game. Maybe adding a plot line could make the exploration more interesting.

imdigitaljim says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:54pm

after i figured out the "e" it was neat! make it more obvious than it already is might be my only suggestion! neat game!

rfgpfeiffer says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:42am

Hey Wevel, what gamepad were you using?

rfgpfeiffer says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:43am

On my game, I mean.

rfgpfeiffer says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Oh by the way i'd like a linux build please. I try to give feedback to everybody who gave me feedback.

EndingChaos says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:24am

Nice game with nice concepts and 3D graphics. Good work!

rfgpfeiffer says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:19am

The Linux port runs fine on my box. This game would really benefit from rendering my feet, so I know where I land.

I did not move with the horizontally moving platforms. That really took me by surprise the first time and I fell off.

I thought your interpretation of the theme was really obvious and straightforward (mechanics like giana sisters and time swap), but yours is the first game in this LD that I have seen that does this swap-between-worlds mechanic.

jahmaican says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:19am

You had quite a similiar idea to mine but it's all fancy 3D and stuff, good effort. Sadly, controls and physics are a bit stiff and unpredictable making the game pretty hard.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]