Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Mirror

by Fjoergyn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hi folks! My first entry is ready. Took nearly 6 hours.

It is an interactive text adventure.


My goals:

- I wanted to get a feeling how hard is is to write a branching story - it escalates pretty quickly: The game is only about 5 minutes long, but has 9 endings.
- I wanted a little stat system, that shows the player how many other players discovered an ending
- I also wanted to write a little interactive fiction engine.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#79Mood3.73
#169Theme3.77
#360Innovation3.42
#543Overall3.22
#611Humor2.24
#791Fun2.78
#889Graphics2.56
#1319Coolness47%

Comments

CrazyDog says ...
Aug 23, 2014 @ 4:10pm

very nice game. Different from others good job

akios says ...
Aug 23, 2014 @ 5:54pm

really cool, very nice way to see the theme 08/10

PowerSpark says ...
Aug 23, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Nice choice with the font, real fun to play.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:51am

This story is clear. Minimalism adds some mood. Bravo ++

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:40pm

Interesting game! I like the nice smooth transitions between branches. And the sudden transition in font to the 'other' side was awesome.

Typo: You removed the blanked!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Very nice concept, but there aren't a lot of options :/

xWarZonex says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:43pm

I

xWarZonex says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:44pm

I really like the storyline.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Hi there, interesting idea. 18.9% saw the ending I reached. Good job!

rjhelms says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:55pm

Very nice change of pace from all the other entries I've seen so far. Not bad at all for 6 hours work, I'd love to see more!

MrSylar59 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:56pm

I love the branching story, you made a great job, maybe could be better with some sound effects ?

Sunflower says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:02pm

One of the more interesting takes on the theme, the narration is good, too; yet it's a tad short, and I'm afraid trying to develop this further would make the thing escalate pretty quickly. ^^"

gwa says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:28pm

Very cool game. I liked the story :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]