Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Final Ultimate Boss: Across Realms

by SevenKingdomsSurvivors - Jam Entry

Hello!

Our entry for LD30 is Final Ultimate Boss: Across Realms. We took the idea of connected worlds to be:
What if all of the bosses at the end of games where connected for all players on all levels?

What we ended up with is a third person shooter set in multiple settings (more to be added later).
The bosses all have combined health, shared across every instance of the game running. In addition, you will see your fellow players fighting the boss from their game. Each time the bosses are killed, they are respawned for everyone with more health. The leaderboard tracks which players contributed to the slaying of the recent bosses. If many people are playing at the same time, the bosses will die fast.

Now I'm off to sleep for the first time in four days...

Edit: Made a video explaining it real quick this morning

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6CCO4ai9a24

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#29Theme(Jam)4.03
#102Innovation(Jam)3.63
#304Graphics(Jam)3.57
#502Humor(Jam)2.10
#563Audio(Jam)2.39
#569Mood(Jam)2.74
#608Overall(Jam)2.87
#716Fun(Jam)2.23

Comments

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:23am

Sorry to anyone who tried initially, I had a few characters swapped in the url.

Lissar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:29am

Interesting concept, though shooting could have been better executed!

tommyboys0107 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:36am

If character is not limited to see the boss, it will be more fun.
I can't tell whether the archer is attacking or hit the boss.

DeathPidgeon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:44am

I can't believe you did this level of 3D graphics for a weekend game, incredible! I was able to take part in killing that daemon in the lava level, but was disappointed to see that he respawned after death. I like that you implemented multi-player gameplay.

datacr4sh says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:12am

gave you full marks for Theme, you really went for it!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:24pm

tommy, I agree. I really ran out of time on the archer stage. There should be an impact and a hit animation. I spent an hour just on the arrow and I can't even see it when she shoots. In hindsight I think we tried to do too much for two people. Still so tired... :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:31pm

Thanks data! I agree Lissar, you should have to aim. The logic behind always being locked on the boss and hitting him was so the controls could be stupid simple and work on mobile too. Though it would be way more fun on PC and consoles to have more control.

DeathPidgeon, yeah when they die, they die for everyone playing and then respawn in 8 seconds. What I really want to do is give bonuses and new skills when you help take it down. Like maybe give you grenades and increased chance to critical hit, etc.

Kyoutashan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:28pm

I died many times, I didn't understand how to dodge the tank (azerty keyboard doesn't help much also). The result could have been better with more time in your hands to add more user feedback, but this entry is good enough to show your idea.
The concept is really nice though. It can be the beginning of a MMO with many boss fights only.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Thanks for playing, Kyoutashan! On QWERTY keyboards it's controlled with WSAD or the arrow keys. It also supports the Xbox 360 controller. You have to connect the controller prior to starting the web player.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:40pm

I was either really laggy, or the tank's hitbox is much, much bigger than the model. I found it was nearly unplayable :\

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Also, if you stand still and shoot at the tank, it won't hurt you X]

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:22am

this came out great, and there is a lot of work put in to it (or are the art assets pre-made)
Either way, it played well. Great stuff

Simon@LD says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:29am

A very cool interpretation of the theme!

Pat AfterMoon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:29am

Interesting concept, and an innovative use of the theme. maybe you should have implemented only one stage (soldier or archer) with more polish.

@SevenKingdomsSurvivors: what technology have you used for multiplayer ?

Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:56am

Thanks guys. The problem with only having one stage is our concept was kind of all based around multiple realms that are connected. We kind of needed a minimum of two.

We tried to use SignalR for the multiplayer. It required some work with the SignalR source code just to get it to work with Unity/Mono at all, but then we found it needed even more changes to work with the Unity Webplayer. So unfortunately we gave up on SignalR late Friday night and had to brew our own solution using basic HTTP calls to a Web API on Azure. If we get SignalR working we will probably post the source code on github to share with the community.

ChrisGaudino says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:55pm

Cool game, however for some reason my keyboard refused to work unless I made the game fullscreen.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:04pm

Thanks. There's a pretty common Unity web player problem where you have to tab over to a different tab, come back, and then it will receive input. That might be the issue.

kibertoad says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:33pm

With a proper combat system and slightly more varied boss attacks this could be ridiculously cool. Also it would be great to have some overarching thematic connection between worlds.

AlbertoSM says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Could've used more polishment on the game feel and the audio. Nice idea, but it might need extra time to get to the point it's trying to make!

Sep 4, 2014 @ 5:46pm

Thanks kibertoad and Alberto.

I agree that the combat system and game feel are lacking. We spent too much time on the server piece and not enough on the game itself. The biggest flaws in the combat system are the always locked view and the fact that every shot hits your target. It's impossible to miss at the moment. That's why I added the delay (archer) or slow walking (soldier) when shooting. Without that penalty there would be no challenge at all. Hopefully we can find time to finish the game though. I got it building on Ouya the other day but our JSON parser would not run on Android. I did find a compatible JSON library though so hopefully we can get it going on Ouya soon.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]