Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Sol

by pikkpoiss - Jam Entry

In Sol you are trying to populate a solar system with life. You can place Earth-like planets in orbit around a star. Each planet pulls on the others so you must deftly balance the gravity wells of every object in the system.

Please contact twitter.com/kurrik if you have any issues with these builds! We want to make sure as many people get a chance to play as possible! If it doesn't work for you, let us know!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#65Fun(Jam)3.71
#91Innovation(Jam)3.67
#116Overall(Jam)3.66
#147Mood(Jam)3.58
#186Humor(Jam)2.97
#329Audio(Jam)3.19
#387Theme(Jam)3.16
#478Graphics(Jam)3.14

Comments

yodamaster says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:27pm

Cool concept, like it! Really interesting to create planets this way and see them dying, haha.

Tosic says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:43pm

No windows... :(, looked nice, though!

elemel says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:41pm

Best so far! There should be some visual feedback while dragging the mouse.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:50pm

This game made me feel way more powerful than I actually am! XD Great entry!

jesterswilde says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:42am

Really cool game. Simple and well designed. I also enjoyed all the various names.

Aevek says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:06am

Finding it hard to find anything to suggest as an improvement here. Really cool game. Been playing for a good 15 minutes so far. I guess one suggestion I have is stacked goals, like "10000 souls spread over 3 planets", because it's easy to get it on one planet. If anything I want to complain that this game is taking time I could be using to play more entries because I don't want to stop playing it.

uvwar says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:07am

I love this. Maybe just a bigger map and perhaps a sort of accretion disc/ring phase might be interesting as things are created and destroyed, so that it isn't instant. One of my fav games!

RetroEpic says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:44pm

Surprisingly engaging. I liked it quite a bit.

Aifryz says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:51pm

Quite nice game. Mechanics feel good, it's a great feeling having 100k population in a 3 planet system. Bonus points for Skaro :D Good job!

udo says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:00pm

I liked playing this, thanks for making a OS X version! Just when I had a good, stable system with several planets going (finally!) the end came very abruptly ;)

reheated says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:39pm

Fun and creative idea, I really enjoyed it. The music works perfectly.

[SPOILER?] With a lot of luck I managed to get 1M people but I couldn't bring the planet into the sun, I tried a lot. [/SPOILER]

01F0 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Hi!

I feel like such an asshole god when I create a planet which is annually set on fire, causing hundreds of people to perish in flames. :(

Very nice game and a really interesting idea. I love the music, really sets the mood. It is really addicting, and the gameplay based on finger/movement precision is really enjoyable.

Great work!!

Dohan says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Fun game, I've enjoyed it a lot! Funnier if you manage to get Hoth on fire, lol.

Lvyn says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:15am

Fun game ! great interpretation ! did 926415 with one planet xD !

reecpj says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:21am

Brilliant job, love the gameplay, graphics and names of planets! Impressive you did it in OpenGL in a short time!

mess110 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:45pm

gj

RFMTeam says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:59pm

really fun to try to keep as many sable planets as possible

borgi says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:25pm

Cool concept! It was a bit hard to create more then 2 planets without colliding them :D

DalsGames says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:20pm

Very nice and simple game. I liked the gameplay and the mood was great.

SnoringFrog says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:24pm

Pretty neat game. I liked it.

Xanjos says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Really loved the concept of having to create new planets to appease a sentient sun and the objectives keeps the gameplay very fresh.

kibertoad says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:50pm

Ok, this was probably the single most unreasonably cruel game I've ever played in my life. In a good way. Great entry, would definitely benefit from a full-screen mode. Also, bigger numbers. Billions are generally more fun to burn then hundreds and thousands.

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 1:59am

One of my favorites so far. I loved the concept, graphics, and sound! I was able to get a planet to be stable, and reach 30k population; but a rather large asteroid eventually hit it haha. Great job!

Arakade says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 9:48am

Wanted to try but got error (below). Perhaps my graphics card is not able to provide something your game needs?

65543: WGL: OpenGL profile requested but WGL_ARB_create_context_profile is unavailable
panic: Can't create window.

goroutine 1 [running]:
runtime.panic(0x5ac4e0, 0xc0840033a0)
C:/Users/ADMINI~1/AppData/Local/Temp/2/makerelease250988475/go/src/pkg/runtime/panic.c:266 +0xc8
main.main()
c:/Users/stepharne/workspace/ld30/src/main.go:129 +0x84

goroutine 3 [syscall]:
runtime.goexit()
C:/Users/ADMINI~1/AppData/Local/Temp/2/makerelease250988475/go/src/pkg/runtime/proc.c:1394

Rehacked says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 12:30pm

isnt there any windows 32 version?

torvik88 says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 7:20am

Great game! You had a ruff childhood or how else it would explain the cruelty of this game. Joking aside, you executed the game very well, nice balance and wonderful gameplay. Cheers, mate! :D

porglezomp says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 4:10am

All those people who can survive 4000ºF are tough!

Seriously fun game. It's beautiful, it's the right balance of difficulty, it has great dialogue (what little there is from the sun), the planet animations are kind of funny, the music is excellent. I think you'll be getting 5 stars on everything but the theme!

porglezomp says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 4:13am

Also, +10000 points for Kerbal.

porglezomp says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 4:16am

Just a suggestion that I think would make things more fun: Make planet collisions not destroy the planets, just make it a bigger planet with the combined momentum, and kill all the people.

masterhyjinx says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 12:57am

Grunedar. It ruled for millenia. 60k+ people... until one day... Keith Moon, which seemingly game out of no where, destabilized Grunedar and sent it on a journey to the stars....

I really like this concept! I wonder if you'd make it a full arcade style game or even a puzzle game where you have to play with how you put things in orbit to win.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]