Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

F.A.T.A.

by joseadrian - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first Ludum Dare entry. The tools i used were:

- HTML5 Game Framework Phaser
- Photoshop
- Bfxr
- Sunvox

In this game you just need to survive and get points. There are 4 "worlds" together. To kill one monster from one world, you need to grab an item from another.

- Water kills fire
- Fire kills Earth
- Earth kills Air
- Air kills Water

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#378Humor2.63
#397Audio2.97
#475Theme3.36
#513Innovation3.22
#524Graphics3.14
#628Overall3.14
#724Fun2.86
#776Mood2.74

Comments

vicious_br says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:22am

Good game, very cool! The bombs are too fast, lol.

namrog84 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:28am

Sooo hard and enemies shoot too fast!

vividhelix says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:26am

Nice, agree that bombs are a bit too fast so it's a bit hard...Like the graphics and the overall feel!

Boodog says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:29am

Awesome job! It's fun, and has good sounds! The graphics are a bit streched, though. Also, you should make it so the monsters don't shoot as fast, it's pretty hard to stay alive :) But awesome job!

ClutchNachos says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:32am

Boy, that is a hard game, but fun :)

Anshzinc says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:33am

Addicting game, and extremely difficult. Graphics and sound are good. It would be lot more fun if it was a little less difficult.

pjimmy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:34am

nice, very challenging but I like the concept

joseadrian says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:43pm

Thanks everyone! I'm going to work on the speed of the attacks and also on the collision points.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Very difficult but I could not kill anyone, it is so hard.

psydack says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:38pm

Really nice game, but it's almost impossible kill one so imagine kill two...
But, I like everything.

c023-dev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Nice visuals!

ExtreLime says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:03pm

Well this is pretty cool arcade game concept. This reminds me Donkey Kong!
Graphics are pretty simple but I liked it.
Good game!

zatyka says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:21pm

Somewhat addicting, as I refused to stop until I actually killed on of the monsters. After about 15 tries, I finally did it. The barrage of enemy fire made the game feel unfair. I'd suggest tweaking the enemy fire, and making the player's fire a bit more visible; the small bullets were so hard to see, especially in the air area.

Simple, but pleasing graphics.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:42pm

This is really hard. Maybe if the platforms blocked the bombs and bullets it would be a bit easier to get some hits in.

gnerkus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:00pm

The enemies are so mean! I love this idea.

havana24 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:28am

I think it is too hard, but I loved the visauls and the concept!

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:40am

Too difficult! Hardcore game, not my type, but must admit it is quite a gem, specially considering it only took 48 hours. Great work!

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Cool game, and nice innovation! Pretty difficult though

Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:15pm

I love the idea and visuals. It find it really hard, or there's something I didn't understand. The enemy bullets move a bit too fast I think.

Adam Thompson says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:18pm

Keep at it! For extra juiciness, you could add some feedback for hitting (and getting hit), and sounds. You'll also want to remain on the moving platforms. Overall, it could be a lot less difficult ;) but this is a fantastic attempt, and I hope you feel encouraged to keep going! Cheers :)

Sunflower says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:33pm

Decent entry, though if someone really, really wanted to go boring-and-practical route, they could grab some element, and then continually kill the same monster (weak against that element) over and over again, while standing around border between worlds as it's the safest here.

Also, it seems like the title is made of elements name in some other language (maybe Italian, maybe Latin, maybe something else? In Italian it could be "Fuoco, Aria, Terra, Acqua"...). Am I correct? ^^

Sunflower says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:42pm

(oh, right, forgot I got here because I wanted to unlock part of Peru in the world map; that would mean most likely Spanish, and the elements would be "Fuego, Aire, Tierra, Agua")

joseadrian says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:51pm

@Sunflower You are the only one who has noticed that. So you are correct about the spanish version. I'm not good creating names I think.

grayhaze says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:09am

This could be fun, but the difficulty level is just too high at the start. After five plays I only managed to collect one weapon. The bombs and platforms should start out much slower, and each world could really do with being a bit wider. Otherwise a good entry with some nice graphics.

renatopp says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:06pm

Interesting game, too hard due to the fast speed of the bombs. Good job anyway.

skiddings says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 1:00am

This is hard!
Cool idea though

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]