Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Energize The Portals

by Jaloko - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You play as a human in a mech suit. The objective in Energize The Portals is exactly the title. You have to collect the energy cells, put them on the beacons and this will activate a nearby portal. When you enter the portal it will take you to the connected world. You must go back and forth between the worlds to get as high of a score as possible.

Now playable in web browser. I highly recommend you only use the web version as a last resort. It seems to be very buggy in some cases.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#346Audio3.06
#573Humor2.29
#645Graphics2.97
#681Theme3.08
#690Mood2.83
#847Overall2.92
#970Fun2.54
#1005Innovation2.47

Comments

wolfmother says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 11:32am

Those parallax backgrounds are really cool!

Krimble says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:27am

Awsome game, good work

theloafobread says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:49am

Backgrounds are cool, nicely made. Got a little repetitive.

Shmackson says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:56am

Love the contrast between the worlds. Well done!

gillenew says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:12am

beautiful graphic

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:30am

The background was cool, but you might want to have it scroll a little bit slower.

Jaloko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:35am

I will remember that for next time. Thanks!

uvwar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:41am

Being able to jump through the terrain was a little too forgiving I think, and most of the small jumps could be run straight over, but I still wanted to see how many levels there actually were.

ClutchNachos says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:00am

The scrolling backgrounds are awesome!

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:11am

It feels like the game is the same over and over again, but some of the sprites were nicely done.

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:00am

The Parallax backgrounds are nice! Like the music and gameplay as well

Endurion says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:35am

Sorry, no Java.

bobrocks says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:23pm

Looks good, it seems you caught everyone's attention with the parallax scrolling backgrounds! A few tweaks and you could really have a nice game here!

ajayajayaj says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:58am

Awesome Game. Backgrounds are amazing!

jackyjjc says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:49am

The first few levels are the same, at some point I thought your game wasn't finished and the levels are just repeating. Try remove the duplicated levels. You can also walk through the gaps on the ground? It seem there are some problems with the collision detection?

However, the graphics especially the background is nice as others already mentioned. The audio is quite nice too. Nice work!

dunin says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:01pm

like every one, no real challenge but good background!

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Great use of parallax for the background and nice music. I liked how the protagonist walks :D However the gameplay felt a bit repetitive, as you were increasing the length of the levels but adding no other elements, such as enemies or power-ups, which would have been nice. Great job for 48 hours. Well done!

metalchouchen says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:28am

Works good, a bit repetitive. The web version not worked on my computer. But the windows looks ok (some colision bug but nothing that lock the game).

someone says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 11:26am

The backgrounds were cool, but it feels like it is sliding when you move because they are so fast.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]