Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Galaxy Saviour

by Samuel Arminana - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Galaxy Savior. The galaxy has been taken over by enemy pods! Defeat as many as you can and clean the galaxy of floating pesky asteroids! Submit your score so other fighters may attempt to beat your score. Warning! The enemy is highest populated around plants!

*The game randomly spawns asteroids and enemies
*It takes a while for the game to load the main level

Controls - Space/Left mouse to shoot, W to accelerate, S to slow down, Right Mouse to look around, Left Shift to enter hyper speed, Q-E to spin

Scores - http://dreamlo.com/lb/53fa37026e51b413282f848c/pipe

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#662Audio2.52
#742Graphics2.82
#842Mood2.66
#847Humor1.88
#950Fun2.58
#1006Overall2.71
#1017Innovation2.45
#1090Theme2.22

Comments

PowerSpark says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:42am

Like War Thunder and Asteroids.

Orange says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:59am

Couldn't click on the start button for some reason.

micahcowan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:01am

Can't seem to point myself at 'em before they've blown me to smithereens in short order. Though that's probably me.

varun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:02am

Found that my ship was moving sluggishly? Either way, its awesome that you were able to integrate a high-score system in the timeframe!

superzac says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:04am

Impressive for 48 hours, the controls are a bit stiff but they seem solid. I had fun. I especially like that you included a leaderboard, very cool

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:05am

The game could be a bit faster, but it's nicely done.

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:05am

nice work.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:08am

I got a real strong cowboy bebop vibe while flying toward the blue planet for like 3 minutes

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:09am

@VilliX I think it runs pretty good for having 500 asteroids and nearly 200 enemies.

Oana says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:14am

@Orange - try minimizing the browser or switch to another browser if it's Chrome. Unity had been acting up like that in my own game.

@Samuel - Congrats on finishing a game! With the new Unity, eh? I was worried people might have issues with it so I reverted to 4.5. Anyway, the game was cute, but I actually could not destroy any of the pods. Wasn't fast enough to dodge their bullets and it seems they kill me faster than I kill them...

Boodog says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:14am

Nice job! Liked the trail effect@

ruthiepee says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:19am

Awww yeah, #1 on the high scores... for a few minutes, anyway. OK so I liked the concept of the game, destroying asteroids and things to protect the planet. The ship was a little hard to control though, just because the environment is so large, I think. Another thing that made it difficult was the asteroids' dark brown color against the black background. I was squinting trying to see them. I love doing barrel rolls though, so fun! And the font you chose was perfect -- what is it? I'm impressed you got a high score list up and running within the time frame.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:45pm

@ruthiepee - Thanks! The font I used was Cinema Gothic

leDragoon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:07pm

can't start the game

slowfrog says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Same problem here: clicking start does not start (Win8.1-64bits/Chrome/Unity Player - Version: 4.5.3.161466)

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:16pm

I can't play decently because the controls aren't good enough

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:16pm

@slowfrog, @leDragoon, if it is has faded out then it will take a little bit for the game to actually load

billknye says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:18pm

I like the graphics, the trail on the bullets was nice. I agree with some of the others that it was a bit slow. The inclusion of the leaderboard is a nice touch.

tbamberg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:56pm

Doesn't run well on the old work comp, but a fun shooter regardless :)

John Drury says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:00am

Flew straight into a planet! :D good fun.

Ofursnati says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:02pm

Crashed into an asteroid :) thumbs up

LaFleur says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:25pm

Interesting choice on music! That definitely added a lot! Great job!

r0x0r says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:32pm

a linux build, please?

Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:17pm

@r0x0r, Added Windows, Mac, and Linux builds!

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:32am

276! But i dont can write the name and submint! Thats make me sad! Great simulator!

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:35am

Very impressive for 48 hours! I liked you had a high scores table too. Controls could be a bit better but it plays well enough. Great job!

mechabit says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:50pm

cool game but the ship and fire rate is really slow, I also think the aim is off, if you put the cross hair on target you actually fire slightly under it.

Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:17am

@mechabit, the crosshair is placed where the bullet will hit at the longest distance.

ninjascript says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 3:33am

Slow to maneuver and slow to find enemies but I really like the idea and the atmosphere. Though I must say that white page background made the game really difficult to see! Once I manually adjusted the page color from white to black the game became a easier to play.

H1S2 says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 7:20am

nice environment, music and spacecraft. it took a while to get to the enemys and then i got killes instantly. a litte more contol over the craft and more gameplay would be cool. keep it up!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]