Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Space Breakers

by DJWizardCop - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Defend your planet from the SHMUP ships with your Breakout paddle!

Overall, very pleased with how this one turned out. I had a little trouble connecting it to the theme at first, but in the end I think the portal flavor works nicely.

Tiny edit: Fixed a glitch with reloading after beating the boss and a glitch with two bosses spawning.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#29Graphics4.33
#89Overall3.80
#90Fun3.76
#358Mood3.23
#575Innovation3.13
#679Humor2.15
#724Theme3.00
#946Audio1.70

Comments

pa3kc says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:25am

Nice graphics + I like the combination!

Boodog says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:58am

Awesome job! I love the graphics! It would be better with some 8-bit sounds though :)

Roknsk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:01am

Fun variation of arcanoid. Good graphics.

haveric says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:03am

Very fun game with superb graphics. I feel like a couple simple sounds could have added quite a bit to the game though.

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:04am

Perfect arcanoid! Nice graphics.

pjchardt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:06am

Nice take on Breakout! Really enjoyed the graphics. Gameplay felt solid, although I felt the paddle moved a bit too slow.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:02am

Nice, quite hard to hit the enemys but thats also fun.

lolofinil says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:57am

Really nice game!

yodamaster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:28pm

Quite fun to play, even though I don't like Arkanoid games in general. I guess some sound-fx would add massively to the experience.

DrMelon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:32pm

Awesome game! Very clever idea, very nice and clean pixel art, and great effects. Liked the "juicy" laser, with its screen-shaking goodness.

uvwar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:33pm

Very cool. I think the yellow and red ships stand out enough, while the blue and green ships blend into the background a little too much, maybe try tweaking the colors or intensity of the background etc. Something like a slight trail on the ball might be interesting to help you keep track of lots of things moving around the screen at once. You need little cities on the planet that get blown up like missile command when you get hit!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:41pm

84800! Really creative mix of shmup and breakout. I really liked this game, wish it had been in bigger resolution and that it had some music and sounds. Very good game!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:57pm

Nice simple game, love the art style and overall execution.

humming says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:08am

Awesome!

ehtd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:17am

Very nice, add more balls to shoots for improved pace

Linus123xbb says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:06pm

This game was quiet addictive, the concept was interesting.
Thumbs up! :)

DJWizardCop says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Thanks for the kind words everyone. I'll definitely try to add sounds to a post-competition version.

@uvwar: Very good points, I'll take them into consideration next time I'm developing something. Thanks for your input.

@AdventureIslands 84800 is an amazing score! You beat my personal best by miles.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:00pm

Very nice game, good take on breakout, the power up were really nice too. graphics awesome too, Congrats!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:01pm

My wife played this for several minutes as she's very good at this kind of game (in fact, I had to stop her so that I could review the game). Her one criticism was that once you get the ball bouncing wildly, it's actually quite easy to keep going without doing very much, particularly as the power-ups are quite abundant.

She is now telling me, "tell him to finish it. I want to play more!"

However, that being said, the concept is *excellent* and brings something new to the genre. I liked the detail on the ships, the scrolling effect, and the effect on the boundary between the two worlds.

Would have loved some sounds - this is crying out for some chiptunes.

Overall, great job.

Druid says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:42pm

This can be hit on andoid devices! Really nice game!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:47pm

Really fun game! It would be better with some sound. Also, the timer keeps on ticking and the boss keeps coming down after game over.

lorniebear says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:42pm

It's fun! My mum is really good at it, I won't be able to get the computer back for a while...

dokidoki says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:40am

Great graphics and gameplay, except one time I somehow got the ball bouncing left and right at the top of the screen. :)

shatterhand says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:23pm

Lovely game, it just lacks sound... and also it barely connects with the theme... but its a lot of fun, and I loved the graphics!

tbam says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Cool combo of mechanics, solid game. I'm not very good :/

TautNerve says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Very cool graphics and good gameplay. I had a hard time aiming
the ball for the boss section but overall I had lots of fun.
Would really benefit from audio.

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 7:58am

Nice connection between two games's worlds, the result is very fun.
Also good job on the graphics.

If you're still working on it, I succeeded in pushing the blue square out of bonds (I've never seen it again).
And the projectiles'velocity value isn't constant which could be a decision of yours, but it feels weird.

SteveSalmond says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 9:56am

Neat! What a cool genre combo.. :D Very well done.

Sep 4, 2014 @ 1:21pm

nice twist to the genre, and great graphics!

sephyka says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 3:35pm

Interesting gameplay. Very good graphics. It might be better with sounds. :)

mildmojo says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 7:36pm

Very pretty graphics, great selection of enemies and powerups. I'm glad the blue ball bounces off the bottom of the screen, much less frustrating. I found myself only moving side to side as if it were a regular breakout game; too much muscle memory from hours of Aquanoid and Super Ball.

The enemies were difficult to target with just the ball and paddle. I wonder if there are other enemy movement patterns for which the ball + paddle would be a better weapon?

DJWizardCop says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 7:45pm

@Colapsydo: When the ball is at a screen boundary, it multiplies its x or y speed by -1 to reverse its direction. There's nothing that actually prevents it from going out of bounds though, so if a paddle or enemy ship pushes it out, it stays out. It's something I'm still looking at and have yet to find an elegant solution to.

You're correct about the velocity, the green ball's y speed is much higher than that of the blue one. When the green balls had the same y speed, it was possible to have 4-5 of them and the game became extremely easy.

Thanks for the constructive criticism!

Moosefly says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 9:27pm

Second game I play this LD that combines a SHMUP with Breakout, first one being http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-30/?action=preview&uid=11474 :P.

I'm pretty bad at Breakout-styled games, and that goes for this one too. I just couldn't get the ball(s) to go where I wanted them to go. Finished with a score of 29500.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]