Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Disconnect

by Colthor - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Oops! Your spaceship has suffered a mishap.

Fortunately, you have an emergency teleporter for exactly this kind of situation. It'll get you all the way home in a jiffy. And in one piece, to boot.

Unfortunately, it's rather a long way from your command module. And it needs power to function. And the ship's sort of... Fallen apart. A bit.

You'd better use the patented MagneticReAttachOTron to stick it all back together. Once the Teleporter (the green module) and two Power Units (orange modules) are connected to chunks joining the Command Module (the blue module), all you have to do is jet over there, hop in the teleporter, and not suffocate all alone in the dark vastness of space!

Oh, the ship's gravity generator is also stuck on, annoyingly. Nothing your Spaceonaut standard-issue rocketpack can't handle. In short bursts.

--
Enjoy!
The font used is Aero by Nirmal Biswas, which you can find here: http://www.dafont.com/aero2.font
The game's built in Unity, and I used the base code linked in an earlier blog post (also on GitHub) to make the tile maps and handle the camera.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#23Innovation4.21
#269Overall3.50
#295Fun3.37
#354Humor2.67
#397Theme3.45
#478Graphics3.20
#690Mood2.83
#761Audio2.28

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:54pm

Very nice concept:D I like games where you have to connect things to form a path. There are many of those games though so it's nice to see somebody try a new take on them. My little astronaut flying around in the room, getting smashed on walls as I move is hillarious btw :D

alangamebot says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:29pm

Reminded me a lot of Cargo Commander but more puzzley. Very cool!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:33pm

This is a neat idea, I haven't seen something like that before!

kyyrma says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:54pm

Really cool! There are quite a lot of keys to remember, so there should maybe be a way of viewing them while in-game. I'd really like to see a further polished game with this gameplay mechanic.

taviandir says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:58pm

I like this game idea a lot! :) I found myself cheering when it went well, and complaining about my stupid mistakes in the game!

Ditto says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:14pm

COOL! Very hard, or maybe it just takes a LOT of patience, but I only managed to complete it on easy :C fucking awesome feeling making your own maze! Keeping track of that little spaceman was a challenge also, he really seems to want to suffocate.. ^^ Good game!

DoktorAce says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:56pm

This game is AWESOME! High Five!

mtrc says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:04pm

Really great, and I love the fact that you bounce around like a pinball as the ship ineptly crashes into stuff. Great idea.

kei says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:25pm

Very original idea. Congrats.

smizmeal says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 11:00pm

Really, really great game. I had as much fun failing as I did arranging the ship. Love the spaceonaut dude -- he valiantly gave his life many times.

Colthor says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 11:24pm

I'm glad so many people have enjoyed this. Thank you, all :)

Blobby101 says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 11:41pm

Very nice! I enjoyed the idea, it'll be good to see it fleshed out a bit - maybe with some other obstacles to add some challenge :)

Riley Adams says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 11:45pm

Great work, lots of fun! Really awesome concept! :D

I found it was a bit too easy to just ram through everything and assemble just the teleporter and power nodes to win quickly.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]