Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Where's Mummy?

by KyleDAudio - Jam Entry

Where's Mummy? is a puzzle game.

Controls:
Left & Right keys (or A and D keys) to move
Up & Down keys (or W and S keys) to interact with the teleporters
Mouse & Left Click when in panel view to toggle buttons on/off

STORY: You live with your Mum in an enigmatic wilderness. Very late one night you wake up and she's missing... You search around outside the house and discover a bridge with a strange teleporter which connects to other worlds, realms much unlike the one you know. You proceed through the teleporter in hope of uniting with your Mum.

Music was done by my brother.

The bugs present since Jam submission have been fixed as of the day after. With the bugs gone it is now playable as intended so I really hope you enjoy my game!

NOTE: Level 5 (the red one) unintentionally conveys a total of 6 possible, different solutions. Only 1 of these 6 solutions will work.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#110Overall(Jam)3.67
#1948Coolness22%

Comments

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:21pm

Nice game

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Good one, I think. Like the idea with buttons =)
But puzzles are pretty simple for me. WANT CHALLENGE!

darkshadow says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:41pm

I like the idea of putting the puzzle clues in the landscape - some more difficult ones wouldn't have gone amiss, but what you've done is good.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Good potential! The puzzles were a little easy, but I feel like if you added on to the game, you could have it gradually get harder! Thanks for sharing! Good luck!

Kep says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:31pm

Just finished. Nothing too challenging, but it's very well done. Thanks!

KyleDAudio says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Thanks everyone for your comments! :)

I actually worried the puzzles would be too hard! I was really struggling for time as I was learning GML as I made this game so there weren't as many levels as I would have maybe liked to be in the game if I had more time but I made as many levels as I could think up right away. I'm just glad people are getting through the game okay; I didn't want it to be too hard for people. :)

I do intend to develop on this into a complete game with lots more puzzles and a bit more world-based exploring as I really enjoyed this game concept.

KyleDAudio says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:59pm

...And with a better title.

Sunflower says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Oh my, another fellow GM user I see here!
It was short, but I really like what I've seen so far. The puzzles were indeed easy (with a tiny exception being level 5 with 3! solutions), but I'd like to see what you can come up with later on! Also, I liked the mood in general, well set up by the audiovisuals (though I'd like to have longer soundtrack in the full version, or maybe even a few different tracks).

The biggest complaint I have is that I haven't found the mummy, neither I know whether the character is supposed to find her in the end or not, so I can't even rant about them bad endings or be happy about good ones. ^^"

Also, I bet the mummy's name is Gemma. That's because we've got levels with alpha, beta and delta, but not gamma in between - should the main character find gamma, he (she?) would kinda sorta find the mummy. Or something.

Toubib says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:38pm

nice game, you should add a web version if you can.

dancingmad says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:23pm

simple, very picross-like, and the mood was nice :)

Very short though.

Nooner Bear says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:29pm

Slightly easy in general but quite fun. Great concept!

TautNerve says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Great mood and cool puzzle design.
I really loved the visual style, would love to see a post
compo version with more puzzles.

frogcheese says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 9:45am

The graphics and music really set a great mood. The puzzles were pretty easy until the red level were I got stuck for a few minutes. Great job! :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]