Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Space Mechanic

by wilpel1234 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a space platformer were you play as a Space Mechanic. Your goal is to repair the connection between earth and planet Xyros by reparing all cables on every level.

Known issues:

-Sound doesn't play sometimes
-Bad collision detection on the "Deadly Blocks"
-You die when you spawn the first time on one level

Comment what you think and thanks for playing my game!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2202Coolness0%

Comments

Thaum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:38pm

The executable JAR downloads but does not run even after unblocking it. (windows 8)

hate-marina says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:58pm

Yep, probably it needs newer JAVA version

java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: Game : Unsupported major.minor ve
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$100(Unknown Source)
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(Unknown Source)
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(Unknown Source)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at sun.launcher.LauncherHelper.checkAndLoadMain(Unknown Source)
Exception in thread "main"

hate-marina says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:58pm

*Unsupported major.minor version 52.0

TeamOnBack says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:01pm

I seemed to have the same problem also on windows 8

lukz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:42pm

Not working for me. (Windows 7)

Endurion says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:14am

Sorry, no Java.

LesInk says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:29pm

I enjoyed this game until I got a little too frustrated on the later levels. At least dying allows you to keep trying over and over. Nicely done game. I even liked how you put the lighting in to darken part of the levels.

OxyOxspring says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 10:22pm

Didn't work for me, sorry!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]