Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries


by Code White - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Wow, this must be the most rushed game ever. Come on, I know it's my second run, but I'm still only 14. And I only had about two hours. And I spent about half that time making the music.

Welcome to the distant star system of Polypus Alpha! Everything's fine, but then a black hole comes along and starts taking your planets. So you, the Star, have to fire, I dunno what it is, actually, to connect and stop them from being dragged away.

So, yeah. You drag your mouse from the "sun" in the center to the planets that come your way to attach them. And press space to reset.


A note to anyone noticing the modification dates - I cleaned up a few bugs in this newer version: fixed a problem with the frame rate, the music now plays to the end before restarting, the worlds now bounce off the sides etc. but nothing to drastic, so you can calm down ;).

Downloads and Links




Linus123xbb says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Decent game, although, you should've put less time in the music and more time on the actual game. Because I wasn't even able to get more than 11 planets, and thus I didn't hear much of the music.

Endurion says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:12am

Nice game with annoying music :)

The idea is a good one. It's nasty when planets bounce off outside the screen as you can't connect them anymore.

xandy says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:58pm

pretty sure your game has a memory leak/bug unless 2gb ram usage are normal

xandy says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:04pm

you are creating 2 new fonts every frame (lines 175 and 179) you should store them in a global varoable and use setFont maybe ;)

Code White says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:25pm

@xandy Oh yeah I see that. Yeah if you leave it idle... Should be sorted now.

MunkeeBacon says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:33pm

Decent game! quite a few major bugs though.

ratking says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:34pm

This is nice!

Hempuli says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:49pm

A cool idea! It was fun to play the game, although I wish there were on-screen instructions. You can get points even after losing by dragging your mouse from the middle to already-connected planets.

DeltaF1 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:54pm

It's very difficult to survive more than a few seconds, perhasp add a lives system? Good job on a 2 hour game however XD

jahmaican says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:19pm

So... I have no idea what is this game about. And my high score is 7. And the music is great.

vividhelix says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:42pm

Feels rushed indeed. Good idea, and the music was nice but like others have said, didn't get to hear much of it...

bluesky says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:15pm

Nice entry, well done.

chowee says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:32pm

Decent game for a two hours work. Too bad you didn't get time to polish a bit more and add some features, it could have been great. Nice work on the music though !

Tom Liebmann says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:34pm

Gets a little easy after the whole screen is filled with connected planets. The connecting mechanic seems not to work as expected as you can click on already connected planets to connect new ones.

But nevertheless I think it is a decent idea and a good job for a 2h title.

fcpfoof says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:36pm

Very cool idea, however it's a little buggy (sometimes does not attach planets, and sometimes attaches by itself).

egos says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:46pm

crazy entry

ShadowStryker says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:54pm

The idea was good, but the execution could have been better. Game also crashes after three or four losses.

Knowledge says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:57pm

It sends me an error: Canon create canvas: not supported by your OpenGL implementation.

creative630 says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:21pm

Haha, I liked the music. The game crashed on me quite often, but I did manage to get 8 planets in-between reloads.

Rehacked says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 6:54am

Good job!

brokenbeach says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 11:30am

I think its important to learn where to focus your efforts. The game wasn't particularly fun. Which is the key thing to any game entry. I'd reccommend spending much more time on actual gameplay. Well done on your second entry though.

cstudios says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 12:12pm

Its hard! Really hard. The music is great, but maybe more focus on the gameplay would help this entry a lot.

RodRoy1 says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 8:18pm

Bit buggy, but I like the idea.

Sep 7, 2014 @ 5:43pm

I want to echo the complaints that many of the other commenters have, but also the congratulations! I think it's great that you're already participating in Ludum Dare, keep at it :)

IsaacL.Balogh says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 2:24am

I really liked this! there were a few issues like the audio repeating like that (when you lose and then go back) got annoying and there were some weird connections when I'd drag to one and then another ball would be connected but overall really fun!

kidando says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 7:07am

I found it a bit hard to grasp. But congrats on submitting your game for the 48 hour compo.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]