Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

AR Suit

by ForeignGuyMike - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Puzzle platformer. Test your reflexes with this.

You are a field tester of the new AR (Alternate Reality) Suit. You are commissioned to run through the test course so that the suit's capability can be determined.

18 levels in all. Upon beating the game, you get a rank. Try to get the ultimate S rank.

Controls:
Arrow keys - move
Z - jump
X - warp

Framework: LibGDX
Graphics: Photoshop
SFX: ReFX Nexus
Music: Magical 8bit Plug

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#6Fun4.19
#9Overall4.23
#43Theme4.06
#60Audio3.74
#92Mood3.68
#96Graphics4.02
#153Innovation3.75
#337Humor2.71

Comments

local minimum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:15pm

It was a quite nice parallel worlds jumping back and forth, but I really got confused when the combination of extra-jumping and world switching. One thing that could help would be to make the collision detection on the extra jump a little friendlier, so that it only requires touching it. Else a really nice little game.

rejooh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:25pm

Love the innovative gameplay and overall feel, but the game is quite hard for me as german fellow because 'x' and 'z' are far away from each other. :)

psydack says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:26pm

It's awesome. I really like it! Greats!
With some USBcontroller this come to be more fun!

jsmars says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:38pm

One of my favorites so far! Maybe winner in fun! :) Really nice platformer, machanic is so simple but so fun and really challanging. Great presentation and challanging levels, nice job :)

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:05pm

this is a really good entry. nice feel, innovative and the music.. oh my god it mixed so good with the jump sound.

Kalman90Grape says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:31pm

That was just awesome. If it was a little longer, it would definitely be worth paying for.

reaver says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:39pm

This was really fun. Love the jump bubbles. First time I've seen it done like that. The switching mechanic works so well with them. Bravo.

Mali says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:25pm

Holy crap. This is so polished and pretty. Probably the best entry I've played so far. Not sure if I just suck or whether its intentional (might not even happen at all) I often hold down the right arrow key and I think that interferes with the switching button. Not sure. Its really fun though! Better than all the other switching platformers that came out of this competition. Seriously, crazy props to you. If you extended this with more levels/mechanics I'd pay for it.

FGM says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:29pm

Thanks guys.
@Mali -- It could be a hardware issue. I know different keyboards allow only certain key press combinations. But (I think) all keyboards should be able to handle just two keys. Just right arrow and z shouldn't cause a problem. Not sure.

Mali says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:32pm

Its probably just me being incompetent and sucking at playing video games. >,< Do you have Twitter/a website? I'd love to follow progress on this and other games you make.

CRAZEERUSKEE says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:34pm

Wow awesome job with this game! It was a bit frustratingly difficult at parts, but fun nonetheless :)

FGM says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:44pm

@Mali -- I don't really finish too many games. I've started working on a lot, just to quit halfway through. That's the main reason I joined this competition, just to kick my ass in gear and make something, anything, and finish it.

You can find the everything I've worked on here:
neetlife2.blogspot.com
youtube.com/user/foreignguymike

CodeNMore says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:09pm

Fun, good idea, well made!

joseadrian says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:18am

Awesome! As someone asked, any way to follow the progress of this game if you are thinking on continue its development?

FGM says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:33am

@joseadrian -- I consider this game done. I won't be adding more to it.

alaslipknot says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:58am

very cool game man !! i was planning to go with libGdx too but i thought it would be better if i stick to what am used to ^^
would you please give my game a try :3 ?

jazzyjester says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:08am

Great game , very good !

Torandi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Fun and innovative gameplay, didn't make it to the end (couldn't beat the level with a jump, switch, switch and then "extra jump")

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:53am

Ouch, I got rank F. Some of those levels really spiked in difficulty. Great job on everything though, it really all came together to feel like a full game. Great music, sound effects, and art. The game mechanics meshed with the theme brilliantly.

BinaryPie says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:37pm

Very cool idea. Great job on the difficulty progression and 'teaching' the gameplay. Only thing is jump bubble hitboxes felt a little small. Character frequently would pass through a majority of a bubble, but not trigger it.

dylanigan says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:36pm

Liked it a lot! Good job!

dunin says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:13pm

rank F. But I'm happy to have finish it!
Really fun.
SOme strange things in command sometimes (and it's me or you can't switch when you fall on down screen and when you go up on top screen?) and jump sphere hitbox too tiny, but I still play so it's really fun.

(and yes, gamepad will be so cool...)

okmmjyygv says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:18pm

I liked it a lot. Like people on the comments said, very polished game.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Wow, this is a pretty awesome entry. Great gameplay and fun sound. :)

Sestren says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:44am

The music was great, and the mechanics were cool, although I feel the responsiveness of the controls could have been tightened up quite a bit.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:39pm

Im not a big fan of platformers but this was really something.
Very clever level design and mechanics.
I got Rank F but had lots of fun. Nice game.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:40pm

I think the collision between the player and the bubble could be improved. The bubble sprite is too large in comparison with it's hitbox

dancingmad says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Wow it's the best platformer i've seen on that game jam. After a small series of easy tutorials, the user is thrown into an INSANE difficulty level with no warnings. Then there is ANOTHER ONE, and then OTHER ONES!

I really liked the difficulty and after some practice, my mind my upside down and i could perform the jump/switch/switch/jump trick without thinking about it :)

Just one thing, sometimes the X/Z keys are 'missed' (they are not taken into account), probably a polish bug to fix, but than can be very frustrating, especially for a game of that difficulty.

LeftRight92 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Frustratingly flawless. Well done

whalebot says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Mad props! This is probably the best Java entry I've seen in a Ludum Dare! Challenging but not impossible gameplay, and very well designed levels. Graphics and music were great! Nice work!

MunkeeBacon says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 11:59pm

Really great! Well done!

bobombe says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 3:20pm

It hurts my brain ^^
Very good and innovative gameplay !

makpantek says ...
Mar 24, 2015 @ 4:34am

The bubble need to be changed, it's either the sprite is too big or the hitbox is too small.

Imo, the bubble placement need to be improve as well. The bubble need to should be placed a little further so player who like to press jump a bit too long can reach it and not overshoot it. Just my personal touch.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]