Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

WorldWar of Connectidia

by Goutye - 48 Hour Compo Entry

LINUX User :
Install the package "love" (https://www.love2d.org/)
Then, Use the command "love WorldWarOfConnectidia.love"
-------------------------------------------------------

Hello !
My game is a fight/management game.

You control two characters in two worlds.
These worlds are connected. When you move one character, the second will also move. But that's not all of the connection.
Your actions in a world do other actions in the other world.

The goal is to keep alive both worlds until you destroy their connection (Symbolized by a portal).
To keep alive a world, you need to defend the fortress. Your king will be generous with you if you do it very well!

So, please take a look at my game!
You can play in a EASY version, a NORMAL version and a HARD version.

You have also a second mode game (Story mode and Legion mode). The second one is only centered on the second part of the Story mode.

The mad kings is waiting for YOU!

--- SPOILERS ---


Some explanations about the game :

Automatically, when 1 wood and 1 stone is available, your king will form a soldier. But only if an inhabitant is available. So, if no inhabitant is free, you can stack the stone and the wood to build a canon or a tower.
This is the strategy to build this building.

To expand your territory, you need to hire farmer. Farmers generate food for your inhabitants... But this explanation is on the tutoriel ! :)

---

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#189Theme3.75
#337Humor2.71
#367Audio3.03
#458Innovation3.29
#700Mood2.82
#746Overall3.02
#827Graphics2.67
#918Fun2.62

Comments

sapermysz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:34pm

I have 32 bit system and i can`t play

Goutye says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:20pm

I will put a release on 32bit system in one minute ! Sorry !

MarekkPie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:20pm

Really took the theme to heart. However, the tutorial has so much text and the controls are found at the beginning that by the time I reached the part where I play, I completely forgot what I was supposed to do.

Tomker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:26pm

Pretty clear UI, good game concept. Interesting.

rantt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:26pm

I like design, and moving between worlds was interesting. I got an error when I hit one of the WASD key in the instructions screen "Mouse.lua:57: attempt to index a nil value" so I just use the arrows instead and it worked fine. Good game, I enjoyed it.

lion123 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:32pm

Nice game. The only strange thing was default azerty keyboard which lead to w and a keys not working
Also when I started for the first time it threw an error:
Mouse.lua:57: attempt to index a nil value
in function 'whereReleased'
in MenuScreen.lua:20

owyoow says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:35pm

I played the OS/X version and the controls are not working correctly. The tutorial says use wasd to move but for me it is: Q is left. Z is up. S is down D is right. I use a qwerty keyboard. I think the tutorial is a bit too long

Goutye says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:45pm

Oups. I will make a correction (ZQSD to WASD)! Thanks

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:49pm

Good concept, nice that you put in the effort to make a tutorial. You managed to combine the gameplay and management aspects really well.

Goutye says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:02pm

Mouse + ZQSD bug fixed !
All versions is up to date now. Thanks !

reheated says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:42pm

Very cool idea. I really like the mechanic where building on one of the worlds will penalise me on the other world. I would only suggest that instead of a big tutorial at the start, provide help as I play.

Otopkin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:00pm

Clever name. The game was pretty good too. The Win32 version works well (atleast on 64bit windows lol)

billknye says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:02pm

An interesting game, there's quite a lot going on for a 48-hour game, well done. The goal and how to play, even with the info screens is not entirely obvious. The forced compromise between the worlds was nice too.

modbox says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:50pm

I didnt get it, sorry.

Linus123xbb says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:02pm

It was a decent game, but I didn't really understand it.

Drew Van Camp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Sounds like a fun game idea, but I feel like I'm just hacking at bats day and night. Are there supposed to be other soldiers or miners or "limberjacks" on screen? I might just be missing something, but the controls all seemed to work and yet all I saw change was the stats at the top. Hacked some bats, though. Exploring with parallel characters is neat. They must feel strange when they run into invisible walls, though. hehe

Cool idea and the main in-game music is groovy.

Goutye says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:53pm

That was not invisible walls. The worlds were connected. So, collision in one world are also a collision in the other world.
Then, yeah, I wished to add these miners, lumberjacks and farmers on the map, but not interesting.
Elsewhere, soldiers appeared when you reached the second part of the game (the Legion mode is only about this part of story mode).
You'll see soldiers in your map and you need to defeat them because they hit really hard.
Thanks for writing this comment :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Nice game man! I like the silly characters and the artstyle :)

Shivur says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:32pm

Good idea!

frogcheese says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:47pm

the idea was cool, but I didn't really understand what I was supposed to do. It might have been covered in the tutorial, but by the time I was getting into the game I'd already forgotten it. Spent most of the time just sitting by the castle and killing everything that approached and clicking the symbols on the top whenever I had a worker free.

JackDegree says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Nice game, though lots of stuff going on and not always easy at first to figure everything out. Had fun though!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:59pm

It's a bit too complicated, I think :/

Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:53pm

Such a lot going on for a 48hr game! By the time I found the portal (I think it was the portal, a pink round thing) I'd forgotten what I was supposed to do with it. Really nice idea though.

lytedev says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:46am

Tutorial was well made, but the game was so long that by the time I doing something besides killing bats over and over and over I forgot what I was doing. Good idea, though!

fauge says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:02am

Very impressive, Love the gameplay

Binary Gambit says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:40pm

This has a lot of mechanics for a 48 hour compo. WELL DONE! PS-Love2d is wikkidcool

racarate says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 4:45am

whoa

that was a lot of... stuff! nicely ambitious, to link three different style game. the tutorial was way overwhelming, but i think that's just because the game has a lot going on. i had to start-quit-start-quit-start-mash-buttons to figure out how the game worked.

the ending screen was hilariously wordy too.

the game itself, i wish the action were more crunchy. i think i enjoyed the brawl aspects more than the management part (i just spammed on farmers and didn't really build any towers)

the music was wonderfully retro.

i did get lost a few times, since the map is so indistinct maybe some sort of radar would have been nice.

also, props on using LOVE.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]