Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mirrored Mittens

by Foofur - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Use zx and arrow keys. R to restart the level.

There are quite a lot of things wrong with this game... most of it's probably because I started the morning of the second day, and later on I forgot to save my file for 2,5 hours (*rolls eyes*) and my laptop crashed... so I had to try to fix the lost work in the last 45 minutes of this LD. I hope you can still enjoy my tiny little game about two(?) cats in their strangely connected worlds.



Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#385Theme3.47
#519Humor2.38
#534Fun3.07
#544Audio2.74
#625Innovation3.07
#721Mood2.80
#751Overall3.00
#862Graphics2.61

Comments

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:20am

I like the cat animations, and the mirrored controls make for an interesting, innovative puzzler.

Is there a "restart level" option?

Foofur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:26am

No, I didn't have any time to fix that... I'm sorry! I guess you have to finish all the levels in one try, hehe

okmmjyygv says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:49am

Very innovative game. I raged when a cat falls into a pit. 8/10

Contraspect says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:51am

The music is simply yet effective!

rd127p77 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:58am

Very Fun Game, Love the cat animation

DustyStylus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:34am

Sometimes the simpler games are the best! Hehe, I seem to have an extra kitteh walking across the top right as well. I care not, the more kittehs the better. :3

Foofur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:38am

I fixed some mistakes my sleepy brain made yesterday night!

Bronaldplo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:16am

Wow nice game! I really like the concept. Personally i'm more into dogs but the game was really fun to play tho! :)
Great job, especially if you made it in one day!

Ofursnati says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:01pm

I like it a lot, a restart when you fall off would have been nice tough. GJ

McFood says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:16pm

The animations were really cool, and the music fit really well too.
Was one of the levels repeated? I kept having to do (2 or 3) twice.
Anyway, great job. Nice puzzler!

malf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:53pm

Interesting idea (very similar to my own) ,but I almost couldn't play because the cats kept getting stuck against obstacles

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:12pm

Liked the music and the game idea. A level restart would really have been helpful though, as my cat fell out of the world and then the other one got stuck and couldn't jump.

simonnaus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:44pm

I couldn't get past the second level where you get a lot of cats. I like the music!

rubna says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:54pm

cute cats! :3

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:21pm

Nice take on the theme. Loved the animations on the cats and the music made the mood. Some of the puzzles were really hard but I guess that's how it's supposed to be :)

lorniebear says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:14pm

I liked the cats! It was a shame that you couldn't restart once you had died.

Foofur says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:04pm

You can restart a level by pressing R now!

elefantopia says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:27pm

Interesting puzzle, cool mechanics.

fisholith says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 10:36am

Fun concept. I like the minimalist feel, and I love the sneaky cat animation. :3

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]