Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Galaxy Conquest 3000

by talecrafter - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Galaxy Conquest 3000

Conquer all connected worlds.

Navigate with Keyboard, Mouse or Gamepad.
Place your three actions as attacks or defenses. The computer does the same, not visible to you.
End the turn and the result of the actions will be determined.
Defense actions are always successfull against attack actions. Attack actions on undefended worlds are also always successfull.
Worlds not connected to the majority of your own worlds fall to the enemy.
The player with three or less worlds looses.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#146Overall3.69
#222Theme3.71
#237Graphics3.64
#282Audio3.19
#318Fun3.33
#364Mood3.22
#446Innovation3.30

Comments

DrCicero says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:11am

Wonderful! Only the 'connected to the majority of your world' sometimes feels strange.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:19am

Title screen was well done and the concept is great even if I sucked at it and kept choosing the wrong actions :)

ahmedmohi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:21am

Very Interested game , like your effort and the concept
I don't know if the different colors green or red mean something .
nice art :D
Well one thing though :D What happen if I attack the same world from where the enemy is attacking me currently what happen is just i get his world and he gets mine I don't know really if it's better to leave or not but just wanted to tell you about it .
Good Work :)

From Smiling says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:22am

The concept is neat I think! I feel the game seems a bit arbitrary though, and it's maybe a bit confusing (unclear) for it to be a versus game?

LaFleur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:38am

I'm really bad at this, but I enjoyed it nonetheless. That's the sign of a good game!

Lars Faust says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:34am

Really cool, very nice use of the theme. I love encountering some board-game-ish entries here.

At some point i got stuck at a tight part of the system and had no way of outsmarting the CPU to get any further though. At least thats what i think. I tried for at least 10 minutes. He only had to attack two key points of my system, which i had to defend every turn, meaning i had only one action left to actually capture a planet, which would of course immediately be recaptured.

Still, very good entry.

naksrifati says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:11am

The visual style is very cool. Strange gameplay actually, but very interesting. :) Feels like a complete, good game.

MintArcade says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:26am

Very hard, but I like the graphics ;)

PunyOne says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:45am

Nice game and style, but the symmetry of the gameplay makes the play problematic - I restarted four times and three times ended up in a loop which would be broken only if I would do a bad move.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:03pm

Very nice concept, good job.

local minimum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:01pm

After a first miserable attempt I managed to win. Towards the end it was a bit tedious to eliminate the last few enemy worlds, so I would suggest win condition to be at a slightly lower percentage. Else, I really enjoyed playing it.

dunin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:22pm

I'm not sure to understand all the rules but good start for a good strategic game.
And yes, the end against the cpu is difficult and repetitive...

esayitch says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Loved the graphics and sound and the made the atmosphere very, very good. The gameplay was funky for me; I lost two worlds but when it seemed like I should have regained them nothing happened. Eventually I got into a stalemate.

It's nicely-thought-out gameplay though. ++!

Good luck!

Makio64 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:53pm

Great concept, it take me a will to understand the rulz but after it was freaking cool ! well done ! :D

Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:16pm

I think I'm too rubbish at it to be able to fully enjoy it. But it's a nice entry!

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:16pm

Well done! Cool and original gameplay.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:36pm

Hi there. Nice idea and presentation, want to play it and tried several times, but there is no clarity of the controls - how to place Attack or Defence. Nor about what the different colours mean. F1 doesn't work for show controls as webbrowser intercepts that. Good promise but needs playtesting (at least browser version does, Chrome/W8.1). Hope that helps!

Sascha says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Great concept and design. Did take to moment to fully understand what was going on, but was fun once I had gotten there. The map generation sometimes threw me off, in one game I got stuck in a 1-world corridor and could never really expand beyond that as the AI kept cutting of my foward base from the side...

But other than that, a really well polished entry! Kudos for including an AI in a 48h game!

frogcheese says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 11:07am

This was a terrific puzzle game! The AI was hard enough to make every little step of attrition feel like a small victory, and I did feel really clever the first time I lured it into a trap that allowed me to grab great swaths of land by completely encircling enemy territories. Great job, great game!

TobiasW says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 9:03pm

It took me a while to get into the game because I always tried to press Space to get rid of the "Navigate with..." help message - and then I lost immediately for soooooome reason. I really like that you implemented different forms of control though! (Tip for mouse-controls: Left click action, right drag movement.)

Afterwards it still took me a while to understand that the enemy is playing by the same rules as I am and what works well strategy-wise, but look at me now: Ruler of all known (and unknown) space!

The graphics are a bit on the simple side, but really pleasent to look at, and the sound effects work well. Pity there is no music!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]