Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

TrainSim 4000

by smbe19 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In "TrainSim 4000" it is your job to build and manage a train network!

This Game is only a prototype to demonstrate gameplay, there are no fancy graphics and the scope of delivery is really small, no manual or tutorial, heck, not even a title screen ;) So be sure to read the manual you find below.

Manual
------
You start with a clean Map with a few Cities (blue rectangles) and a few hills (gray rectangles). It is your job to connect the cities so that the trains can deliver their freight. Trains will travel autonomously (they take always the shortest path), so you only have to provide the tracks. Your goal is to reach a certain amount of money.
If there are too many trains on a given track, they will wait there until there are less trains on this track. You can increase the capacity if you buy an upgrade.
From time to time new cities will appear.
There are from time to time earthquakes. They can destroy some of your tracks. (An earthquake you hear may destroy no tracks at all or may even destroy several tracks)

Controls
--------
Left click to start building rails. Move the mouse to the end of the desired track (which has to be straight without corners) and left click again.
To delete a track, perform the same action but click at the end with the right mouse button or press Space.
Scrollwheel: zoom
F5: generate a new map (Sorry, doesn't work in web, I didn't think about that...)
F8: disable audio

Money
-----
You will get money when:
- a train arrives at it's destination
- you delete tracks

You will spend money when:
- you build tracks
- trains have to wait
- continuing for upkeep

Colors
------
City:
- blue: normal
- red: a city without any tracks
Train:
- green: normal
- orange: waiting (either the destination isn't reachable or there are too many trains on the given track at the moment)
Track:
- black: normal
- red: there are too many trains on the given track

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#184Fun3.54
#269Overall3.50
#461Audio2.84
#534Mood3.00
#546Innovation3.17
#724Theme3.00
#812Humor1.95
#1068Graphics2.22
#1204Coolness49%

Comments

Snuux says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:54am

I love logic games. And your game look very good! Thanks!)

MintArcade says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:12pm

Quite innovative. Great theme use.

Josh H says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:20pm

Very cool, my kind of game. I love the music. Well done!

Retr0spectrum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:22pm

A good game, but the first few levels are too easy/boring. Maybe a "fast forward" button would be a good addition?

Artamus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:28pm

Nice game, congrats!

owyoow says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:29pm

Nice game. I like sim games and this was fun to play

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:32pm

I really really like it but I can't find the theme in that.. Where are the conntected worlds? You could have done the same exact thing in space with planets and not cities to make it very more relevant to the given theme.

local minimum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:32pm

This was a quite nice and relaxing experience. I played until the 128* level. I figured it would take a whole lot of time to complete. So if there is something, I would suggest not using $-target as much as the frequency of railroad problems to increase the difficulty.

Else it was, as I said a nice relaxing experience.

ninjascript says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:32pm

Really fun! Some of the audio cues seem to fire without a related event (the new town sound happened a lot when there was no new town) but I still found the game to be very enjoyable.

Katamori says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:34pm

Addictive!

alycarter says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:35pm

nice little logistics game. it would be nice to have a penalty to going minus in money though.

smbe19 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:38pm

Sound issues:
The new city sound should work correctly, but as a new city might lie on an already built track the city isn't red and you might not have noticed the new city.
The sound for the earthquakes is a bit stupid because an earthquake might not destroy anything at all, but it fires the sound anyways (stupid, I know)
Fast forward: if you want to jump over a level, try LeftShift + F9

talecrafter says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:38pm

I love this game.
Played the web version until the graphics got too small and the rails could not always be recognized anymore.

sez says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:40pm

I like it!
It's mesmerizing to see all your green cubes move over the map, it's like an ant colony of moving awesomeness.
The first level was a bit harsh, it's easy to fail if the cities spawn too near each other. The later levels are the most fun. As a big Transport Tycoon fan I found it entertaining and inspirational. Well done!

BillToWin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:44pm

I like this a lot. I'm really into games with simulation elements. The graphics are simple yet effective at conveying their meaning. Gameplay was perhaps a tad simple but I can see it being expanded/flesh-out easily. A+

gmfk07 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Cool concept and nice execution. However, it does require a bit of waiting at first.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:35pm

Like your transport simulator. Very simple graphics & music, quite enoqyable gameplay

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Hi there. The zoom seems to be broken on web/Chrome/W8. I often get a starting map with 3 stations, only two in a row, connect these and then nothing else to do... many refreshes later get 3 in a row... but still get -ve score ?? Not sure how to improve what I'm doing...

CaptainNakou says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:38pm

Yeah, the concept is really simple and good. I dont really understand how i earn and lose money, but that's okay, I won x).

chadiik says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:42pm

I usually don't like sim games, I found this one soothing and been playing for half an hour... Still am!

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:44pm

nice game.

Binary Gambit says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Enjoyable and Addictive :D

Chaoslab says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:06am

Lots of fun. Really enjoyed this game. Nice we puzzler! :-)

RadioLemon says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:01am

Its fun to see all the cities and the trains moving between them, nice job on making an awesome city-train simulator

PEBKAC says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:44am

Awesome! I really enjoy watching those green lil' trains moving across my screen.

One request: could you make the screen move on the arrow keys as well as the mouse?

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:21am

So engaging I spent an hour playing it!! I would love to see this with better graphics and a couple more mechanics being developed into a larger game. Keep it up!

apr3ntice says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:30pm

Other than the fact that I think the first level is the hardest by far, I think you're on to something interesting... keep up the good work

popcorn897 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:24pm

This was a very effective time waster.
At the start, its a bit confusing, however that gets surpassed almost immediately. After the initial learning curve, it just turns into a waiting game. I think this could benefit from some random events, different problems, upgrades and the sorts. I understand the limited time probably made it not likely to happen, but you should continue development because it is fun. Graphics could use some improvement, the blue green red didn't really mix well. Other than that, this was super fun. I think I spent a good 45 minutes on this.

Tanser says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Cool game! I like it :))

rd127p77 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:12am

Pretty cool game kept me busy for hours. Which Means it is fun.

HayManMarc says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Nice concept, but seems to quit making money altho I have filled the entire map with track and cities. I had fun playing, still.

ZYXer says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Wow! I've been thinking about making a train game for LD for quite some time, but I never quite figured out the gameplay. This is a great solution. Well done!

The cost of the upgrades isn't quite balanced, I found the cheapest was just to connect all cells as a grid. Plus selling tracks doesn't make any sense, as your money balance can go negative.

Anyway, I really enjoyed the game. I would love to see it with better graphics!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]