Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Zombie Miner

by elefantopia - Jam Entry

You like Minecraft? Lava? Zombies? But crafting is too much of a headache?

Well, I've concocted something just for you, it's called Zombie Miner.

You land in the World of Minecraft.
You have 200 seconds to build your Dwarven fortress/farm house/chateau
before zombies start spawning and, using the power of their rotting brain, pursue you restlessly.
And don't you let them merge into a gargantuan Mega Zombiiiie.

[1] to select pickaxe, [2-9] to select block, left click to carve or build

NOTE: all credit for the terrain go to the creator of Cubic World API made by dddenisss35@gmail.com
You can see his thing over there: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZQqmsbP1J3I and yep it's got L-System structure making, brilliant uh?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#352Humor(Jam)2.48
#441Graphics(Jam)3.24
#533Fun(Jam)2.78
#554Audio(Jam)2.44
#569Mood(Jam)2.74
#617Overall(Jam)2.85
#747Theme(Jam)1.80
#753Innovation(Jam)1.89

Comments

diamondgfx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:46pm

The game runs but it doesn't seem to let me control/move at all.

artifex says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:31am

Cool game and graphics, but maybe too much time to explore before zombies arrive. BTW, how do you use the inventory system?

psychomonster says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:36pm

Cooooooool.... the evel twin of minecraft. Nice entry. Cool gameplay

elefantopia says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:40pm

@diamond, click on the screen maybe?
@ arti, right click but I'm planing on changing that to left click and choice between digging and a few resources
@psycho thanks

elefantopia says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:55pm

@arti, I agree, I changed the wait time to 200 and the delay between new zombies to 50 with a cap at 100 zombies.

insane66 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:47pm

MINECRAFT VS DWARF FORTTRESS

elefantopia says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:31am

I added a selection of blocks so you can build with left click and select the block with number

egor-idiot says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:55pm

Very good. Interesing.

dook says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:45pm

Nice little minecraft clone, but not much game in it :)

vividhelix says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:54am

Oh no, they merged into a huge zombie :)

Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:18am

oh! A minecraft clone!
Nice job on that, ran smoother than Minecraft.

andrewkennedy says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:47am

The graphics were really nice and I like the idea of the game. I just build a giant lava cube though and the zombies couldn't get me. Maybe consider putting some kind of rudimentary liquid system for the lava would make it harder to cheese the game like this. Or some sort of objective so that walling yourself off is a bad thing!

Rehacked says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:16am

Good game.

AmmoreChicks says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:07pm

Impressive game but... how does it fit the theme?

kibertoad says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:32pm

Impressive from a technical standpoint, entirely disconnected from theme, could be expanded in a complete fleshed-out game. Plays quite well.

HayManMarc says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:07pm

I've never played minecraft so I was unfamiliar with this. It seemed kinda pointless, but I guess that's how minecraft is. Everything seemed to work the way it was supposed to.

bluesky says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:49pm

Nice game Love the gameplay.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:56am

I saved myself from the zombies by making a hole in the world and falling undefinitely. Nice map!

elefantopia says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:19am

@Juki I want to see that, you crazy ... person (see how I steer clear of the gender debate?)

moi93101 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:59pm

The idea is cool, but it's easy to "cheat". More stricts rules can improve that !

whilefun says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Zombie sounds were pretty cool, and the countdown timer "clack" was creepy.

Ted Brown says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Full points for using a wacky API to basically build a Minecraft arcade game. You'd get double or triple if you actually put more gameplay in there. :)

KingBolonzo says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:09am

This seems better than minecraft I HATE THAT GAME!!

Mallot1 says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:28am

Very cool game! :D

SoulGame says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Impressive work but not sure about the theme?

kristof says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 2:04pm

Would be a great mod for mc;) Or does it already exist? There could be some gameplay improvements, but it's fun already.

elefantopia says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 7:16am

@kristof, A cube world MC level with zombies where you can terraform? ohhh... :D

Natrium729 says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 12:00am

I tried to play it, but I could not build a shelter. I think it's because I do not have a numpad, so I cannot choose the blocks I want to use. You should allow to use the numbers at the top of the keyboard too. Too bad I could't play!

Sep 13, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Nice-looking Minecraft clone, looks very nice.

Gameplay could use some work, though, I think, since it's not hard to make it impossible for the zombies to get you.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]