Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Thing Between Two Worlds

by Galdon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

So, to suit the connected worlds theme, I went with two parallel worlds being connected by one threat, which you will have to face.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#238Humor2.91
#255Theme3.67
#486Fun3.12
#534Mood3.00
#618Overall3.15
#653Graphics2.96
#772Audio2.26
#833Innovation2.79
#1319Coolness47%

Comments

Sogomn says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 12:32pm

Quite fun. Some glitches when changinjg the worlds while being in a wall but that was no big problem.

Galdon says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 8:11pm

I had intended for the slime to slip upwards through the wall visually, but unfortunately for some reason the effect did not work unless it happened almost instantly, which looks glitchy. But it was better than getting trapped inside walls. xD

shashwat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:05am

Good game. A little short.

ahmedmohi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:26am

Nice decent game , like the the concept and the puzzle you make and come out with .. good work :)

LaFleur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:13am

Very cute, great mood. Good job!

MintArcade says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:14am

Quite fun, nice concept.

Bronaldplo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:14am

Cool game man! Good idea that fits the theme perfectly!

NuSan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:03pm

Great game, sliding upward when changing world is a good idea. I also like that there is two portal, with different outcomes. Keep up the good work.

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:42am

Fun game, cute visual style and good gameplay. The controls were a little tricky to work with though, mouse click to shoot would be a nice alternative.

ninjascript says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:46am

Great concept. The controls were a bit weird -- I couldn't get "z" to do anything even when it was called out in the dialogue, and ctrl+up on OS X launches Mission Control. Made the fight with the big blob pretty awkward :P

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:19am

Nice little small game

alvivar says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:08am

I won!

Ryusui says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:04am

Clever bit with the hidden "true final boss." I also like the way the light world/dark world mechanic ties into the platforming.

Kinda frustrating how it's put together, though - it's all too easy to switch between worlds right into the monster's body. Some music would also have been nice.

danidre14 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Between Two Worlds, erm I mean the Thing, was a descent entry, but it was too short, and got to the point to fast, I found.

Good job though on your entry!

frogcheese says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 10:19am

Short, sweet and funny. Liked the dialogue and narration, especially after beating the fake boss.

jprogman says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 3:22am

Short and sweet and to my liking. :)
I was a bit confused on what to do at the boss as just killing the big blue thing doesn't end the fight.
However, I did win it.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]