Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Siege From Above

by CeriseGhost - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hey guys,

This is the second LD competition I have entered, and I've got to say, I've been looking forward to this weekend for the past 4 months.

This entry was made using Game Maker studio and the HTML5 extension. I figured it'd be the easiest format for you guys to be able to play.

The following tools were used in one way or another in the creation of this project:
- Game Maker: Studio
- Photoshop
- GarageBand
- Audacity
- http://www.bfxr.net/
- Drop Box
- gmscoreboard.com

The Game: Siege From Above

Aliens have "connected" to our world, and now want to destroy us and take all of the planets resources.

Anti UFO guns have been constructed all around the globe. You have been tasked with defending your sector.

You must not let them land in your city.

try to destroy the most UFO's and take your place at the top of the leader board! (Be sure to go back to the main menu after dying. This will automatically submit your score. You may also need to enable popups to view the high scores or simply visit: http://gmscoreboard.com/siegefromaboveufo )

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#324Humor2.75
#674Graphics2.93
#674Audio2.48
#730Fun2.85
#864Mood2.63
#1041Overall2.64
#1080Theme2.26
#1176Innovation1.89
#1204Coolness49%

Comments

bladderbloat says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 1:19pm

TOP SCORE! WO!

Sacha862 says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 1:53pm

This is a fun little arcade style game, I like it!

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:15am

There you go. Nice game!

BoskoSokolov says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:21am

Such a nice game, made me feel like a child again :)

McFood says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:13am

Lots of fun, I was compelled to get onto the scoreboards =D

Nanofus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:56am

A big bonus for the scoreboard. :D

CeriseGhost says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:04am

Thanks Nanofus! Getting that working was my main focus this LD!

klusi0 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:07pm

I hadn't seen this kind of a game for years!
Really cool that you have made the scoreboard - that makes it even better. Congrats!

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:15pm

Pew pew pew!

Cosmologicon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Not the most original game in the world, but it's got a few nice touches. I liked the way the score worked, and how you shoot the menu buttons to select them.

sanojian says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Nice solid game and the leaderboard is a big plus. Not high marks for originality or following the theme but its fun anyway!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:14am

simple and fun

zatyka says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:50pm

There's not a whole lot to it, but it was addicting. Fun little game.

Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:49pm

I like the scoring system where bullets cost points, and how the UFO's on the left become harder to target as they get lower. As others said, the high scores are a really big plus. I didn't know about but gmscoreboard website! I'll probably use it in the future too :-)
Only thing is that in your game, submission doesn't seem to work on Firefox :-( I got 1900+ points but since your game appears to have mixed content (http/https) Firefox somehow prevented my score from being sent. Instead I manually submitted my score, with a little bonus for the extra effort.

CeriseGhost says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 10:36am

Hahahhah :D I love it :D Cheers dining philosopher! I'm glad it wasn't over 9000! :D

Sep 4, 2014 @ 9:50am

Actually I tried submitting "Over 9000" but I guess the website strips non-numerical characters ;-)

Sep 5, 2014 @ 11:37am

I really liked the menu selection mechanic. Starting somewhere other than the centre of the screen gave a fresh feel to a defender-style game too.

hbocao says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 11:46pm

Nice little game! Would like to see different UFOs and weapons. The score system really added to the game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]