Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Worldhole Theater

by Killbert - Jam Entry

Used Java and Slick2D. Enemies are bugged because I used Slick2D, should have used LibGDX.

Created in ~12 hours for Ludum Dare 30 Game Jam.

The enemies are bugged, a lot.

Controls:

Mouse, steer ship.

Scroll, change speed.

Hold left mouse button to charge weapon. Release left mouse button to fire.

F1 - Debug mode.

E - Enter portals (when available)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#423Mood(Jam)3.00
#435Fun(Jam)2.94
#531Audio(Jam)2.59
#566Theme(Jam)2.69
#622Innovation(Jam)2.56
#657Graphics(Jam)2.61
#704Overall(Jam)2.63
#1767Coolness32%

Comments

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:25pm

I've found quite a lot of bugs. You should polish the game a bit.

Charlie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:48pm

I can't run the game on Linux, probably you forgot to reference some libraries.

$ java -jar WormholeTheater.jar
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: no lwjgl in java.library.path
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadLibrary(ClassLoader.java:1886)
at java.lang.Runtime.loadLibrary0(Runtime.java:849)
at java.lang.System.loadLibrary(System.java:1088)
at org.lwjgl.Sys$1.run(Sys.java:73)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at org.lwjgl.Sys.doLoadLibrary(Sys.java:66)
at org.lwjgl.Sys.loadLibrary(Sys.java:95)
at org.lwjgl.Sys.<clinit>(Sys.java:112)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.Display.<clinit>(Display.java:135)
at org.newdawn.slick.AppGameContainer$1.run(AppGameContainer.java:39)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at org.newdawn.slick.AppGameContainer.<clinit>(AppGameContainer.java:36)
at com.hubert_kaluzny.WormholeTheater.Desktop.main(Desktop.java:9)

leDragoon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:53pm

I can't play the game, it just flashes a command prompt window

Killbert says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:56pm

@leDragoon you have to extract it to a folder first.

@Charlie probably the same thing, or the linux startup script is incorrect. (try double clicking the .jar, that may launch the game)

billknye says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Game is definitely a bit buggy. I'm not entirely sure I understand the goal. After killing a few initial enemies I waited a while and nothing else really happened. Just seems unfinished.

Killbert says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:06pm

@billknye you're supposed to find the portals, and go on until you die. The portals are linked to different worlds and such, the further you get, the larger the score you get for clearing an enemy wave. Sorry if it seems unfinished. The enemy AI is really bugged up, due to my lack of comprehension in physics and maths.

Oana says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:08pm

You should probably mention that scroll wheel determines the ship's speed. Took me a while to figure it out. Other than that, it is a nice idea and a good try. Pretty good music too. And I had a good laugh seeing the enemies jitter like that!

Killbert says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:17pm

@Oana adding it to the website + post now. <3

arhpositive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Considering your time constraints this is a decent attempt, albeit a bit buggy.

I played the game thrice, in the first two times going as deep as level 3, and I only encountered ships in my first game and only right when I started the game. I've seen no more enemies from that point, which is not really ideal for a game like this.

At my final attempt, I encountered a fountain of bullets, looking like coming from out of nowhere, right next to a pair of red ships ignoring me. :) It was quite funny and that bullet hell got my life. :)

eruiz00 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:32pm

Your are right. Should use libgdx :)

Tosic says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 12:36pm

Quite confusing but not bad, but I think it would be easier if I could move the ship with W,A,S,D!

bluesky says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 3:07pm

Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]