Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Destroy The Darkness

by TechnoWolf99 - Jam Entry

This is my game for Ludum Dare 30: "Connected Worlds"! In this game you must destory the dark entities that reside in this facility. I built this game from scratch in 72 hours (except for some minor code snippets) using FlashDevelop and AS3. All graphics, music, ambiance, and sounds were created during this time as well.

I was originally planning for this to be a much larger game, but as I actually got working on it I realized that I didn't have enough time for very much. So many things we're left unfinished or left out because I had to rush it out at the last hour for submission. :P

Be sure to rate! :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#131Mood(Jam)3.63
#194Graphics(Jam)3.85
#327Overall(Jam)3.30
#349Audio(Jam)3.15
#364Fun(Jam)3.07
#448Humor(Jam)2.26
#564Theme(Jam)2.70
#723Innovation(Jam)2.12
#1598Coolness39%

Comments

Cyral says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:56am

A great short platformer, love the art as usual!

iSamurai says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:00am

The mood created by the silhouette art and deep music is awesome! It's a solid platformer. If the animation can be more fluid, it would be better. Good job anyway!

ClownAround says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:04am

Liked the idea. Art fit very well with game. Was a little hard to fight enemies on account you swing your sword so slowly. But, good game.

banana4life says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:46pm

Nice short platformer.
Its a little hard not to get hit by the enemies at all.

mess110 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:49pm

cool graphics

blindfox says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Very stylish and atmospheric. Minor gripes include having to jump up stairs and an attack animation that is a bit ambiguous, but as an experience it was polished and refreshing. Level design was very good, although enemy AI suffers a bit when you are above them and the level is separating them in the player (they won't pursue the player if they are above or below them unless the player kits them on one level). Love the aesthetic and the very subtle lighting around the facility areas. Jagged borders in the pocket dimension were a nice touch. Overall one of the best I have experienced even if it is not that difficult right now.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:51pm

GREAT music, really cool art - a simple combat platformer, and all the better for it. Nice work! (Regards wanting to do more content once you've got the main game working, I knows that feel)

jomomomo says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Great job with the silhouette idea...

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:49am

Very cool atmosphere.

danidre14 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:30am

Much too short! The first level however, was difficult (the first one with monsters) But after that it became really easy, and I sliced through the remaining levels. Expect a rating on your Newgrounds entry around the same amount as I rated this one. And you can also check out my game if you'd want to. Eye scape!

Tanser says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:12am

Cool game :)

pjimmy says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:30pm

well done, the dark environment gives a very unsettling feeling

rd127p77 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:10pm

This game is phenomenal in every way shape and form. The music is great, graphics are great, game mechanics are great.
Wish it was longer.
Great Job!

pmrsco says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Atmosphere and sound were definitely cool. While the intro text could have been a little more in-depth, and it would have been nice to have combat a bit more weight to it, I enjoyed the short playthrough. Really liked the enemies, their shambling animation was lovely!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:19pm

Cool concept, very music too.

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:23pm

Nice and short game, I left wanting to play a little more. Good job!

Sep 11, 2014 @ 3:35pm

Very stylish. Love the graphics. Short game, but good.

Sep 11, 2014 @ 4:20pm

Lighting is superb in this game, and so is the mood it gives when playing. The take on the theme is not very clear and gameplay is simple but well done.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]