Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Hoverator

by Viza - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hoverbike arena shooter.
I run out of time when I could really start on level design, so the game is kinda short - If you know what you do it can be finished in 3-5 minutes.

Arrow keys or WASD to move, left CTRL to shoot.

Clear every sector to restore the connections between the platforms! Ohh, and don't fall down. :)

If you can finish the game, post your time here in the forum! My best is 151 sec (for now).
Can you beat it? ;)

P.S. I rate everybody's game who rates my game and leaves a comment here!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#79Fun3.79
#152Graphics3.85
#175Overall3.63
#176Audio3.41
#253Mood3.36
#611Innovation3.09
#713Humor2.12
#963Theme2.57

Comments

FurtherForm says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:54am

Loved the bike, the feeling of hover and the airy architecture and atmosphere. Wanted to go long and fast. Got challenging with a nice curve and enemies felt fitting the setting though bit tropey.

martindilling says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:21am

137.46 sec http://imgur.com/L1vuP3l
I like it ;) great idea and very good result :)

MintArcade says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:56am

Nice Graphics, very ambient. Like the controls.

bladderbloat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:57am

The hover was the king and dominator and felt awesome, really smooth! It had the 90's sci-fi vibes in it totally and I love that!

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:58am

doesn't load for me. will try later

anssipe says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:03am

Is that standard Biped riding that hover bike? O_O ... No really. The controls are probably the best part of this game... It really feels like driving a hove bike. Nice work. Nice gfx too.

komjaur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:28am

good

MRvanderPants says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:32am

Really solid controls and a great level design! Not sure what the connection with the theme is. Great game tho!

JetL33t says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:09am

I like the style and love the music :D
It's pretty well done.

Larzan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:10am

Nice gameplay, very fun, good mechanics, well done :)
You got me with the gap before the end, aaaaaaaaaaaaargh...

midgard says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:11am

Nice controls (maybe a bit slow, makes the dodge aspect of the game so impossible!) and nice ambientation on the game, I couldn't see where is the theme relation but yeah, it was fun so, it's a game.

Calciumtrice says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:12am

The bike is really nice to control and was fun to drive through the level. Good stuff. :)

McFood says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:13am

Excellent Music
Fantastic Graphics
Superb gameplay/controls
Brilliant stuff

CptDustmite says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:17am

Really fun! Controls were a bit tricky for me though. Audio was good, graphics were really nice, and it was fairly well polished. Good job!

Linus123xbb says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:26pm

I absolutely love the physics of this game, it's unbelievable that this game was created within 48 hours, it is a game I'd really like to see on my phone! Thank you for this game!

Viza says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Thanks for the nice comments!

As for the connection with the theme: the platforms could be considered worlds, and you fight to restore the connections between them... I know it's a bit weak, but whatever. :)
My original gameplay idea was better from a theme-oriented viewpoint, but I had to scrap it because I wasn't sure if it would work at all, and I *was* sure that I will run out of time if I try to make it work. :)
(For the curious: in the original idea the hoverbike could shift between dimensions somewhat Ikaruga-style. But for that mechanic you need to have a clear view of *all* the battlefield, which you don't have from a third person view. I didn't wanted to change to a topdown view for the game, so the dimension switching must go. :) )

@martindilling:
I'm down to some 145 sec, but you are still better :) If I try to go faster they always kill me on the last platform. :(

@mess110:
Is it working now? It works for me, and generally the people seem to be able to play it. Maybe try an another browser?

@anssipe:
No, that's an interdimensional hacker-spacemar... Ahh, yeah, that's a biped. :) I used it as a guide for proportions when created the bike model, and meant to replace it later with a proper model, then deadline happened. :)

@Larzan:
Yeah, the last bridge is evil I know... The perspective makes it very hard to detect the gap.
Maybe it could work on a bridge with a turn, so the player could see it before drives over it. Or maybe even work at the start of a level, to teach the player the importance of paying attention. But as the last bridge in a game with no checkpoints... Pure evil. :)

@midgard:
Yeah, the dodging (at least the strafe-dodging) was deliberately missing from the game. I wanted to avoid turning it into a circle-around-the-enemies game, and keep it more like a car-combat game.

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Nifty visuals (love the hovercraft model), challenge was ok but could've done with health pickups! Overall pretty cool!

jas7229 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:58am

Really cool graphics, I love the feel of this game! When I fell off I didn't game over but I think I was looking from underneath the character and I couldn't really see or navigate after that? But pretty interesting up till then!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:30am

I love this game, but it seems to me too slow. It can be improved by some FX. Nice design ++

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:58pm

That's pretty cool. The floatiness of the bike is the best AND the worst thing about this game :)

TeamFaceDesk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:10pm

I love this entry. The art style is nice and clean and I found the game rather fun :)

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:13pm

love the movement on the bike and the music. Died twice but came back to finish it. I expected impact damage from the spiky enemies though. good work!

KeyMaster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Really impressive! Though I felt the gameplay was a bit slow the concept was still quite nice, and all the other things like art and music were great!

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:24pm

This was pretty sick, once I got the hang of the bikes control I had lots of fun just ridind around. the light trail and the explosions were a really nice touch, great job!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:08pm

It didn't load for me - just a black screen. I'm trying to run it in Firefox (31.0).

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:44pm

Those controls are spot on! I loved the feel of this game, it was a blast to play through. I would like to see a full game made out of it. It kind of reminded me of playing the game Assault Rigs for the PS1, even the funky catchy music.

nesis says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:31am

Fun game, though the controls were a little confusing since I'm coming off the back of playing a lot of Borderlands - I kept trying to turn with the mouse XD

Good level of difficulty as the game progressed, dodging those bullets at times came down to luckily bobbing down as the bike balanced itself. Music was pretty good too.

nesis says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:31am

Oh, and if you'd like to play my game, here's a link to save you some time! http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-30/?action=preview&uid=2726

rojo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:42am

Controls definitely felt really smooth which made for a pretty solid game overall. Good job!

xrm0 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:49pm

Very nice!
A have a notebook which doesnt have an insert key!

igoramendola says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:51pm

Nice game! I really enjoyed because the controls are smooth and the music gives a nice ambience. I read what you said about the original idea, but I don't know the Ikaruga-style. However, I imagine an alternative option could be: each platform were in different heights and you would be teleported instead using a bridge to go to the next platform. By the way, I died on that last bridge ¬¬ hahaha... then I played again and won! And I played a few more times, but I still couldn't beat your time :P

sandbaydev says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Excellent entry. I immediately thought of several things that could be worked on further:
- physics based ammo: would be nice if balls would collide with walls and bounce around. then some bombs... and other weapons
- would be interesting to try if game would improve by allowing shooting to any direction (not just front). not sure how this would affect balance: maybe then would need to remove reverse gear?

I liked that the areas were compact & there were clear goals. Variety of enemies too.

Well done.

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:20pm

Nice work on game feel! However, I don't see how it really fits with connected worlds.

pansapiens says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:32am

Controls felt great, and I even managed to not fall off. You know you've built a good foundation when it's fun just to cruise around. Excellent music too, although the 'coin pickup' sound was a little loud/harsh in comparison.

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:08am

+ innovation, + fun, + mood

I had a few usability problems on the mac:
1) I don't have an INS key
2) pressing ctrl and arrow key at the same time makes OSX swap desktop to widgets ... lethal in a fight with bullets flying

I also had a bit of problem seeing through scenery that was between me and the player; you could do some neat tricks with face culling and stencil buffers to overcome that next time.

I saw past these issues when rating ;) Excellent hover feeling :)

hb3p8 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:41pm

159 sec with only 1 hit, after 5 attempt. Very cool glider, Love how it feels.

Artamus says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Nice game, congrats!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:53pm

I wasn't able to get the game to run in Safari.

Patrik says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:19pm

Cool graphics, simple but theme-based sounds and music. Easy to control. Strange at first, that move with keyboard and attack with mouse. 48 hours under, this is a masterpiece.

Rothens says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:42am

I loved the mechanics, and the atmosphere of the whole game :) I'll try to finish it later. (Got a bit angry, when I accidentally drifted down from the last platform :D )

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:56am

Really solid game. The controls were really tight. Loved the bike design. Good job! :)

Viza says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Wow, how many new comments!
Thank you for the kind words! :)

@DragonXVI:
I wanted to do health pickups, but then I only had time to create a small level, so to keep the challenge, I left out the health pickups.

@jas7229:
Hmm, that's must be a bug, never happened to me. Maybe the hovercraft not really fell off, just the camera gone awry...

@Gecko1337:
Yeah, there were a LOT of effects planned of course... But then, the deadline came. :)

@dickpoelen:
Yeah, exactly. ;)

@designernap:
There *is* impact damage from the spiky enemies... Just very low. In comparsion: the enemy bullets' damage is 5, the impact damage is 1 every I don't know tenth second maybe, or something like that.

@electricseagull:
Strange, did you tried to refresh the page?

@andybrown:
I checked out assault rigs on youtube... Those non-perspective corrected textures... Ouch, my eyes! ;)
But yeah, my game is somewhat similar in gameplay.

@xrm0:
Ouch! I didn't think of that! :(

@igoramendola:
Ikaruga is a legendary shotemup game, where there are black and white enemy bullets, and you can switch your ship color, and only damaged by the opposite colored bullets. Check out sometimes, it is very good!
I wanted to do something similar, saying that the hoverbike can switch between two worlds/dimensions, so it is connecting them... But now only the bridges left for the connecting part of the theme :)

@sandybaydev:
Nice ideas! The game definitely needs more weapons, and physics based are good suggestion. I originally wanted the main weapon's damage reduced with distance, so the player can choose to stay away, but deliver smaller damage, or go in, and quickly finish off the enemies.
The aim is deliberately limited, I wanted to keep the vehicle combat feel (as opposed to a FPS character on a bike). But the players could probably accept that better if I use a hovercar as a vehicle instead of a hoverbike...

@Noah Ratcliff:
It connects poorly. :) The platforms are "worlds", and by clearing enemies, you build bridges between them, thus connecting them. :)

@pansapiens:
Yeah, but that's an important sound, signaling the clearing of the platform, and the opening of the path. :)

@Will Edwards:
Uhh, I'm sorry, I don't have a mac to test on... But I will try to keep those in mind for my future games. :)

@BradSmallPlanet:
Hmm, I don't have Safari installed... Is anybody else having problem in Safari?

@Patrik:
Wow I didn't even know that you can shoot with the mouse :)
I just used Unity's "Fire1" key, which is Control and Mouse 1

@Rothens:
I hope your keyboard survived the accident! ;)

dweebster says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:09pm

Very nice game! Enjoyed it a lot. Good Controls, easy to understand but still challeging!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:34pm

Very well done. Good controls, and I get the theme tie in. Awesome.

psychomonster says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 11:09am

Only one Word: AwesomeGameManILoveItSoMuch!!!! :D Nice style... cool gameplay. Music is really nice... so well done... good job :D

metalchouchen says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 10:26pm

Nice work, and in 3d congrats! I really don't like the control of the character but it's still a good LD game :)

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 10:33pm

Cool game! Controls are floaty but the game owns it, so I didn't mind them. One strange thing: if you fire on a down-ramp, your bullets go into the floor. Almost got me killed. I enjoyed the music! Good job.

Sep 7, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Very well done. I included it in part 19 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/ljAqElzAd_Q

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 3:47am

Great game! I don't get where is the connection with the theme but it is a fun game to play. The movements and shooting are pretty smooth. Keep up developing games, I liked what you wrote on your tumblr. Good job!

0x0961h says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 11:56am

Oh, I like the visual simplicity and I especially adore that hoverbike. Like, for real, it's amazing. :)

Rage Paint says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 2:22am

Cool game. Took a bit to get used to the controls as I was expecting a strafe but that would probably make it too easy. I took way too much damage on the second area.

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 2:11pm

Very nice aesthetics

Longarmx says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 6:29pm

Great game and wonderful music!

Viza says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Thanks for the nice comments!

I played all games who rated here so far (except for two, which I can't get working :( ).
There is still some time left, if you rate mine here, I'll try to squeeze yours before the judging period ends!

@metalchouchen:
A Twitch game for LD is a brave move :) Unfortunately I can't play your entry :(

@longarmx:
I can't get to work your game, it wont even want to start. :(

racarate says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 12:01am

very extreme-g!

everything looked really cool. i liked how it felt, especially how quickly you could turn. the feel of the bike was a bit overcorrect-ey at first, but i actually like my racing games like that (initial D seems that way to me).

the impact effect when you got hit was very good. not a lot of LD games have a good impact hit like that.

the sensation of speed was okay, but i almost with there was some futuristic speedometer to better gauge my speed... it would have been nice for when i was just-edging around some corners.

my main complaint would be the input mapping. spacebar would have been a lot better for wasd shooting (on my macbook the control key is on the left side of the keyboard). spacebar would have also been better for restarting (there is no insert key on a mac keyboard so i had to close the page then re-open it).

also, your colors for the level and player and monsters were so pretty but then you used programmer 'full-on' red and green for the special effects and UI, maybe it would look cooler if they matched?

oh, and maybe thicken up the sfx a little bit... sfxr can sound juicy if you just double or triple track some slight variations.

nice job, thank you for making this!

Managore says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 12:04am

A huge amount of fun! I wish there were more levels, more platforming... more everything! Great work.

My best time was 124.94.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]