Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Grave Gravity

by Jaenis - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are part of Interplanetary Planetary Demolish LTD.
Your job is to destroy unnecessary rocks.
Try not to harm inhabited planets.

Gravity will affect your method of destruction, making collateral damage difficult to avoid.
Shoot your missiles through the connected gravity from worlds to achieve your goal.


EDIT:
Now ported to Web with help of Emscripten!
It is a bit slow to start, please be patient...


EDIT:
Chrome seems to sometimes think that my entry is malicious!
However, it is gravely misinformed and my zip is clean.
At least Virustotal agrees with me: http://tinyurl.com/mr8clwg

If Chrome is blocking you, please unblock the download by clicking "Show all downloads" on the bottom right corner and allow it.
Weird, why Chrome is doing this...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#156Innovation3.74
#200Fun3.52
#352Overall3.41
#401Audio2.96
#435Graphics3.26
#464Mood3.10
#790Theme2.89
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

varun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:45am

Actually an interesting way to twist the typical Angry Bird's - like concept. The gravity visualization is also really cool! Would love to see this as a mobile game.

ZoneOne2 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:47am

The visualization of the gravity looks cool.

Roknsk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:15am

That is some original idea.

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:01am

If and when I figure out how to compile your game on Mac Os I will play it

alycarter says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:51pm

i love the gravity visualization!

Mali says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:05pm

I love this. The visualisation is awesome. Some funky mechanics like blackholes or orbits would make this even cooler! I'd love to see you extend this further. Do you have Twitter?

Jaenis says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:30pm

Just made a Web port with emscripten.
@Mali, I updated my profile for Twitter information (Jaenis7)

Decept404 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:08pm

Neat! Feels a bit trial and error/random but still interesting :)

FakeHair says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:18pm

The grid representing the gravity in the back is really cool. Would have liked to see designed levels with this, as some randomly generated levels are impossible to clear 100%. Great work!

TowelKing says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:07pm

had a fun time, and I really liked that the gravity of planets changed whenever they got hit, it made each shot interesting

Literal Games says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:08pm

Fun, inventive game - well done!

Shivur says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:10pm

I love gravitational distortion!

frogcheese says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:11pm

I really liked this game! Aiming through all the messed up gravity was far from an easy task, but it was a fun challenge. Really nice take on the theme, good job!

porglezomp says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:12pm

This is pretty fun, I am now history's greatest monster, destroying all life with my supernukes. I feel like the gravity visualization could be cleaned up so that it doesn't wrinkle quite as much, and it needs to be more obvious that you can charge up the shots, it took me 5 minutes to realize I could.

Keep up the good work!

xandy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:19pm

cool little puzzler and nice ambient music

Jaenis says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:24pm

@porglezpomp: haha, becoming the history's greatest monster was the very reason why I added all those counters :D
And indeed, there is some pesky bug in the visualization that makes wrinkles there, some day I'll hit it with supernuke!
And thanks to all for the comments! :)

nonetheless says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:18am

Great idea and execution is nice. Sometimes it's hard to figure out how exactly missile will go but definitely a great, skill based game!

ConciseBit says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:14pm

Really nice idea. Add a few more elements and the game can become very strategic. Imagine a multiplayer mode with bullets and defense fields!

btw it is unexpectedly funny looking those bullets running on ridiculous paths :)

Good job.

sekaru says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:39am

Pretty cool main mechanic that created a lot of weird situations (still fun though).

ponk says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:47pm

Super nice visualization of gravity.
I like the rocket's movements

SketchyGalore says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 12:00am

I loved this one! A clever, simple mechanic well-executed. A+!

Sep 15, 2014 @ 12:02am

That was brilliant. Really simple original and addictive gameplay.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]