Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Escape the Dream

by bazld - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a short puzzle/adventure experience where you must find a way to wake from your dream. Unity/Web.
Cursor key controls: Up, Left, Right.

Check my post mortem entry for more info.
Thanks for playing!
baz.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#30Mood4.02
#172Graphics3.80
#524Innovation3.19
#565Overall3.20
#674Audio2.48
#678Theme3.09
#889Humor1.75
#1062Fun2.36

Comments

Nanofus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:00am

Awesome atmosphere! :D Really liked the graphics.

ClownAround says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:16am

Cool. I really like the art and style. It was a neat, but short, experience. I especially liked the way you drew the 'silhouette people'.

bazld says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:53am

@ClownAround yeah, I wanted to introduce new game mechanics but it didn't quite work out (see post mortem). Graphics are a bit different, but so hard to make :P Next time - pixel art!

donut345 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:56am

5/5 mood, really captures a dream type feel

bakwards says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:30am

Nice style, but I had a problem with the fonts, I couldn't read what was going on. But I kept going! Nice stuff

Nananas says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:42am

Whoa I woke up O_O what just happend :)
I really like this. Beautiful mood.

(ps: The post-mortem clarified a lot about the ending.)

Vallar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:04am

First time I looked at the graphics I thought they were amazing for the theme. They fit right in and were perfect to that kind of atmosphere.

The whole game gave a good vibe for its theme and idea and I liked how it played. The narrative was interesting and the hints were really well done (albeit the [SPOILERS----------] glowing took a bit to figure out).

I liked the sounds but I wished for music. I understand from your postmortem what you chose that. Still music could have added quite a bit with the right tone as you mentioned.

Great work and I really liked the concept very well. :)

Manou says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:13am

Very good idea and execution! Needs some music :D

Ryan Melmoth says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:36am

I enjoyed the visuals and atmosphere! Had to read the solution, couldn't figure it out.

Kedume Bits says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:48am

I like the graphics. It's more experience than game.

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:15pm

Interesting game. The graphics is unique.

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:16pm

Nice mood, the game was a bit repetitive but I enjoyed the experience. ^^

midgard says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:26pm

Nice atmosphere, my eyes bleed a little thought with the colors and the movement without really any depth on screen. But overall it's a nice idea!

Jupitron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:33pm

Awesome graphics and experience! Great setting.

DrMelon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:48pm

Interesting concept! Clever use of graphics to build atmosphere.

Laralyn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:55pm

Interesting game with a great feel and mood!

hogtrick says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:29pm

Interesting game. Nice mood.

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Very surreal. I liked how strangely the protagonist walked from side to side.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Love the art direction and mood, but... it's no a game, actually.

Lvyn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Interesting game, can make a great horror game :)

Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Really neat story! I included it in part 10 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/KmqpyEAAVGM

bazld says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:27pm

Thanks for playing, everyone. I don't know why I made such a strange game(!?), LD makes you try something different. That 'PT' teaser def messed with my head :P

bazld says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:37pm

(oh, and I'm working through as many of your games as I can, reviewed 65 so far...)

Eero Tuovinen says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:03pm

Nice mood. More of a digital, interactive poem or novel than a game per se. Very complete for a time-pressure situation.

Linusson says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:01pm

It took a while to figure it out but I managed to wake up. :D Dreaming can be strange so it was fitting that it was a bit hard to figure out the solution. I liked the feeling of the fog and people coming towards you. Well done! :)

wdebowicz says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 9:58pm

I like the idea and mood, I think that adding some psychodelic audio would improve it a lot.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]