Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Connected

by DarkEngineer - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game was made with custom framework called Entropy. There is all what i was able to make in 48 hours. Second LD and still too little experience to make funny game. This map is random generated. Wish me luck next time! If you want you can move your character with WASD. There is bug which i couldn't fixed, because didn't have too much time, you need to refresh the game and pray to load properly. That's all, thanks if you read that! Leave comment so i can give you some points in your game!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#916Humor1.65
#964Audio1.61
#1093Graphics2.17
#1104Mood1.85
#1187Theme1.63
#1196Fun1.70
#1199Innovation1.67
#1223Overall1.69

Comments

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:35am

Despite it's not finished I've really enjoyed playing it. Graphics are really cool. Lack of collision detection bring it the new dimension, I can freely travel across the universe to discover other worlds. After 2 hours of travelling over blue space still I wasn't able to find another world, but I will try harder.
Keep it up man! I believe next time you will bring us foka freaking awesome production which will be pleasure to play with. This game is great! 1/1 Javascript FTW!

PS. I can't kill boss on level 2 :<

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:17am

The game is "a bit" raw, but still I wanted to cheer you up - cuz every attempt is victory in matter of game-dev :)

I hope you make post-mortem and actually finish it.

CeriseGhost says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:21am

Hey man, I'm not sure if it's the bug that you were talking about, but I couldn't do anything but move around in this game. I could walk through walls too. I tried refreshing it a bunch too but nothing seemed to change.

If this was simply because you ran out of time - well done on getting something entered!

jthistle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:22am

It doesn't work for me... he just walks where he wants and doesn't collide (using Safari, Mac OSX)

matthewj234 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:22am

A good starting point. Hopefully you continue this and finish it!

yodamaster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:24am

First load didn't work, but after clicking refresh it worked. Nice start, looks promising. Keep on working on it.

Norfinel says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:24am

I do not understand what I'm supposed to do.

mrbungle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:25am

Same as everyone else - can just move around, no collisions.

yodamaster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:25am

First load didn't work, but after clicking refresh it worked. Nice start, looks promising. Keep on working on it.

Healthire says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:33am

It's not much of a game, but it's a good start!

FeYbraNt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:34am

It "bugs" me a lot, i can only move around but nothing happens :(...I use Mozilla Firefox and W7, anyway nice try !.

Otopkin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:38am

I like that you tried to go for random level generation (I didn't have the balls to do it). I hope you'll fix the bug and post an update. You've really gone for the hard route, using a custom framework and all that and I respect you for it. Most of us just run Unity or another game engine with editor because it's safe - you don't have to deal with low level crap - managing collision,physics,rendering and all that annoyance and you have more time to make a game.

lantto says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:54am

Same problem here.

sftrabbit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:56am

Also not sure if it's buggy for me or not! I can walk through walls and there's a blue circle, but I'm not sure what to do. Nonetheless, looks like a good starting point for your custom framework.

elemel says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:57am

No collisions for me neither.

MrTambourine says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:09pm

True infinite and procedurally generated experience!

Z.B.G.E. says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:35pm

@Tanner "can't kill boss on level 2" >>> Haha nice trolling!

Regarding the game, well that's a start, if you eventually finish the game feel free to add it as an "post-compo version", if I run into it I'd be glad to try it too!

Otherwise I hope you'll have better luck next time, try maybe to aim for something more simple :P Or y'know, don't, either way you'll be able to learn new stuff and practice game dev, so whatever you do it's all good!

DavidErosa says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Infinite Dungeon Ghost Simulator: 10/10 :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]