Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

TrainGates

by Hozar - 48 Hour Compo Entry

First LD!

More of an experiment with new UI tools. Use windows download.

Web build might not work.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#706Audio2.41
#723Graphics2.86
#738Mood2.78
#1053Overall2.61
#1062Innovation2.37
#1075Fun2.32
#1102Theme2.19
#1542Coolness41%

Comments

Andrew Adams says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:57pm

Web link failed.

TheZiggy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:59pm

The web link doesn't lead anywhere

Dasginger says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:04pm

The game looks and sounds really nice, you did a good job of creating atmosphere. I like the idea, but the levels could be a bit more interesting.
Also, your download works fine but the web link gives me a "Webpage not available" error.

Ossi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Your web link doesn't work but the windows standalone version works. That was a really cool! I like the atmosphere of a the train in the dark woods. It was really easy to destroy the gates since you could just shoot as fast as you wanted. I like the freedom at the end where I could just go on until the end of the track at maximum speed and fly off into the darkness, that was really hilarious! Well done!

ReddogStone says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:15pm

OK, so if I got this right, it's more or less enough to just hold W and push the left mouse button like crazy. However, I really liked the atmosphere and the fast pace. It's amazing, how just the possibility to drive faster and faster can be fun in itself :o)

Hozar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:15pm

Sry, doesn't seem like web will work as im using the new beta version of unity. I get the error "Built with beta version of Unity. Will only work on your computer!" but Windows version should work.

hoyt hoy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:46pm

I didn't get the theme on this game.
I know you explained on the control button about R is to reset but, would be nice when you need the button on the game tells about it.
I died on second level, and I really tried to pass :/

JackDegree says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:18pm

Hum I think the idea of the train was in itself very good (very few trains in the games I've seen till now), but the shooting is kind of superfluous... I really liked that feeling of hurtling through a dark night, with the tunnel and the forest, very pleasant to the eyes. Perhaps next time think don't hesitate to not implement "traditionnal" game mechanics, and risk making interactive art!

Tanser says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:51am

The volume control is really nice addition. The music is nice. Good project for compo!

xrm0 says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 10:39am

Nice to have the volume slider

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]