Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

B.O.W.

by alexdantas - Jam Entry

## Context

You control a ship that can alternate between two worlds - "Black or White".

You can only damage enemies with the same color as you.

Use your reflex and timing skills to survive for as long as possible!

## Controls

Arrow Keys/WASD: Move ship
Shift/Q: Change state
Space: Shoot
Enter: Pause
ESC: Quit Game

## Meta

Programming Language: Haxe
Game Engine: Flixel
Graphics: Adobe Photoshop CS5
Sound: None

## Comments

Dammit, this is my second LD but this game ended up being way worse than I thought.

In total I spent like 5 hours working on it, with lots of interruptions. I wish I had dedicated more time to it, but this was a very busy weekend.

I hope I can make up for it on LD #31 :(

P.S.: I'm having trouble exporting from HaxeFlixel to Flash. It creates a blank SWF. Did anyone have problems like this too?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#580Humor(Jam)1.69
#597Theme(Jam)2.58
#651Fun(Jam)2.50
#686Mood(Jam)2.24
#726Graphics(Jam)2.25
#742Innovation(Jam)1.97
#751Overall(Jam)2.47
#2202Coolness0%

Comments

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:19pm

I think this game inspired by Ikaruga ;)

01010111 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:18pm

Solid shmup that you could definitely build on for future games! I'm glad it looks like you figured out the blank screen thing - I had the same problem and for me it was because I was trying to run fullscreen :)

jomomomo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:49am

Worked fine for me, I like the mechanic switching between b/w... I wasn't able to get all that far, are there powerups? How would that work with this mechanic? I think there's more under the hood with this concept... Thanks for making this!

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:38am

Ikaruga, FTW!

aeveis says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:36am

Is the blank swf this problem? http://stackoverflow.com/questions/24097198/haxe-projects-only-shows-blank-flash-player
I fixed my problem following that.

I thought of Ikaruga as well, good job for 5 hours!

JNyknn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:01pm

Not bad for a game made in 5 hours. You should make a post-LD edition with improved everything.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Straight forward Shmup, but it works well and has solid mechanics. I wish that the background was a bit more interesting, but other than that well done!

Loren says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:27pm

nice nice :) well-done

SkyWolf says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:34pm

ha! A little Ikaruga clone! it's a good starting point for something :)

stvr says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Neat little shmup, not bad for five hours!

Cireon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:44pm

I think it's a very interesting concept, though it still needs a bit of work to feel right. I think there is the short working time to blame for the lack of content and polishing. The biggest comment I have on the gameplay is that the ship feels very slow to manouvre, which was somewhat frustrating to me.

SoulGame says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:54pm

Nice entry, but the concept is not very new isn't it ? :) Anyway you achieve a nice work.

CodeNMore says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:10pm

It's good gameplay, fun, just not sure if the 'worlds' part of the theme is connected :) good job.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]