Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Who Plays the Player?

by harko12 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The concept here was that you as a Player were in the 'world'. But in another 'world', another player sees your world as just a board game they can play. And in your world, there are board games of other worlds that YOU can play.

Sadly, I ran out of time to get it all working, but right now you can start a game, and then connect to it with another copy of the .exe and see it as a board game, which is a good step towards the final concept.

In order to try it out, grab the EXE, then run a copy. Choose 'start server' then join server. Then start another copy, and just pick join server. The first copy will be the 'world' view, and the second copy will be the boardgame view of that world. If you move your character around in the 'world', his piece will move on the board.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#147Innovation3.77
#475Theme3.36
#688Graphics2.90
#776Humor2.00
#894Audio1.93
#1009Mood2.33
#1010Overall2.70
#1181Fun1.90
#1523Coolness42%

Comments

MerlijnVH says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:33pm

It's a shame you ran out of time, but I can see where you were going with it! It's nice that you got the Unity networking stuff figured out during the short time. Something like this, more fleshed out, could be really neat!

idovingx says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:17am

Not much as of now, but It'd be cool to see where this ends up!

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:31am

Really cool idea. I'm sorry you ran out of time, but thanks for sharing what you had so far.

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:04am

That's a pretty neat concept. Reminds me of team-building activities that require someone to lead another.

Kayelgee says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:32pm

So what would've been the actual gameplay? What would the board player do?

harko12 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:34pm

well the big missing element is the enemies. I had intended there to be many enemies roaming the board. If you see the little brown piles of dirt littered on the ground, those contain treasure and power ups. So, the idea was to get as much treasure and upgrades as you could. You would have to fight the enemies to get it. The Board player would be able to direct the enemies. To try to overwhelm you or outflank you. I had an idea about a fog of war type thing.. so that if the world player knew the board player was there, he could try to get to a square that the board player hadn't unlocked yet, and then the Board player wouldn't have such a huge advantage. I was thinking of a system where the more 'skill' a board player had, the more things they could do to the world player.. the faster they could unlock squares.. that kind of thing

Marcellus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:08am

Great use of the theme even i it's not really a game.

Hope you learned a lot while doing this. Also I really love the graphics.

ZYXer says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:10am

Quite interesting concept. Is there currently any other way to interact with the scene then moving camera?

alvivar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:46am

Cool idea. Definitively have potential.

Scipio Xaos says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:13am

Looks cool. Definitely would like to play a finished version.. but a Linux port would be nice. :P

DeltaF1 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:47pm

I REALLY LOVE the idea. You should continue working on this! It really isn't a game at this point, but I like the ideas for direction you have. Keep working on this! I would love to play this when it's done. Maybe you could set up a post-mortem link to a github so we can see your progress? Whether or not you continue, I really like the concept. Keep at it! :)

Tosic says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 9:57am

Not bad, idea is good, but there are several things there:
- You lack of sound
- Pure multiplayer for LD is not reccomended (I mean you can hardly get to play with someone else, so you do not get the full idea of the game!)
- It is kinda weird when the third player joins?
- Mouse look is annoying

In general game is not bad but lacks lots of things, idea is awesome though!
And please do not take this comment the wrong way, it is just some constructive criticism! ;)

hbocao says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 11:37pm

The concept seems nice! Unfortunately you couldn't finish it. Would be nice to see the interactions between a first person game and a top-board view game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]