Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dimensions Reality

by gandalf1209 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

CHANGES! Original Entry is no longer linked!

Still some problems, but having it tested on multiple platforms would be of very much help! Thanks!

=== Notes ===
== 8:15 PM 8/21 CST ==
Level 5 Portal Issue
Portal issues in general in some cases

== 5:00 PM 8/22 CST ==
Lots of bug fixes
Main menu added
More Sounds
More Things Added in General

== 7:00 PM 8/22 CST ==
Added some more debugging tools
Added another level
Available for all platforms!
The portals are a little glitched, so just keep walking through them, and you should end up where you're supposed to be.

=== Post-Mortem ===
Changed and fixed things based on feedback from others! Video will be out soon!

=== Info Alerts ===
Would you like to receive info about Dimensions Reality? Follow me on twitter @gandalf1209 to receive those precious updates!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#978Audio1.53
#984Theme2.53
#1146Fun2.07
#1199Graphics1.60
#1209Overall2.06
#1907Coolness24%

Comments

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Interesting game... I included it in part 8 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/_ZcQE6pTBcc

gandalf1209 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:15pm

Thank you!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:04pm

A bit buggy but I enjoyed it. It would've been nice not to have to start from the beginning every time I died.

gandalf1209 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:59am

Ok, thanks for the feedback!

43iscoding says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:50pm

Main character is funny :D Is it a cookie?

gandalf1209 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:18am

I didn't really know what it was supposed to be. My viewers on Twitch said he looked like a potato, so I called him Pete Potato. But he can be whatever you want him to be!

HayManMarc says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:52am

Definitely has connected world theme by dimensional travelling. Game is quite simple at the moment and could use some more work. Funny looking character and crazy warping sound effect was awesome.

gandalf1209 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:42pm

Thanks man! Sorry I dropped out of the stream early, my internet cut out. Great feedback though!

eemmbbeerr says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:30pm

When I walk into the teleport gates, the character just starts vibrating in different places onscreen (Linux version). But it was fun until I teleported into fire and had to restart the game from the beginning.

gandalf1209 says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:05pm

Haha thanks for the feedback! I did have some glitchiness with all OS's and I think I know why. I will be changing/fixing some things based on requests for port-mortem, so stay tuned!

frogcheese says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 10:10am

The teleporters were really nutty. After playing a few levels poor Mr. Potato got stuck inside some horrid World In-Between were he was doomed to view the dimensions he was used to traversing, warping from one viewpoint to another and back again in the blink of an eye whilst listening to the sound of a teleporter absolutely spazzing out. Forever.

But that was pretty fun, too. And while it wasn't all that hard, it's a pretty decent concept for a puzzle game.

gandalf1209 says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 11:28am

Hahaha, thanks for the feedback! I did fix the portal glitch in the post-mortem if you want to actually finish the game and have more fun with it.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]