Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Kick Lucifers Ass

by adrenalinehigh - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Lucifer thinks he can just open a portal and melt all our buildings? F* that guy! Shoot down his demons to get mana then show him who's boss!

It's an action shooter, my first. I used Unreal Engine 4, so the game looks kick ass but barely gets 40FPS on my GTX 760. That's what you get for making unoptimized meshes XD


JAM VERSION
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-30/?action=preview&uid=42401

GIFS AND VIDEO http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/08/25/kick-lucifers-ass-shooter-gifs/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#478Graphics3.20
#694Humor2.13
#895Mood2.58
#1062Theme2.32
#1124Fun2.14
#1169Overall2.32
#1171Innovation1.90
#1659Coolness36%

Comments

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:20am

Ugly. Friend, you don't respect the rules. An 48 Hour Compo Entry must share source code and you can't use these assets. You don't see the rules. Sorry ++

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:14am

Everything you see above was made in the 48 hours, human models included. Don't make assumptions. I'll post a timelapse soon.

I tried to post the source but my internet crapped out. I'll post it soon and you can check the timestamps.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:55pm

The buildings falling were very crazy, nice; But way to heavy.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:01pm

Thank you! I'm glad you got it working at all. In retrospect I should have downscaled the demon mesh, they move too quick anyway.

Hamsternator says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:55pm

A well made entry, but a little bit too basic in the gameplay department =)

idovingx says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:37am

Cool but I ran out of ammo almost instantly and couldn't find more?

MJamesShort says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:46am

I got it to run alright. Very interesting game!

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:21am

YEah!! Take that Lucifer!
You did well choosing Unreal engine, it really looks great and has an awesome omnious atmosphere.
That bastard Lucifer is tough!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:59pm

So nice that you used UDK. It's rare to see UDK in LD.
The game is nice, and very creepy lol I liked the effect on the buildings melting.
Nice game

Rage Paint says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 6:35pm

The buildings falling was such a cool effect

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]