Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

String Theory

by TowelKing - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Fly between worlds to create a web of strings. Use these strings to build up combos and score big.

Controls:
left and right arrow turns player
space bar to jump off worlds

Tools
Engine: Unity 4.6 Beta
Language: C#
Audio: Audacity
Graphics: Photoshop

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#140Fun3.62
#241Audio3.27
#263Overall3.51
#306Innovation3.49
#323Theme3.56
#411Mood3.16
#498Humor2.41
#516Graphics3.15

Comments

PowerSpark says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:21am

I can't think of a reason not to like this.

NickFrushour says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:22am

Doesn't work for me in Chrome. Says that it was built with the beta version of Unity and will only work on your computer.

ClutchNachos says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:22am

Really cool idea and done very well!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:24am

That was fun, I wish I knew all of the combos though!

Fanttum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:26am

Really cool game. Lots of fun once I got the hang of it. Not much too it, but it is a good simple

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:27am

Interesting :), but the games lasts a long time after I reached time 0, is it intended ?

hectormorlet says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:31am

This is really cool, with a funny name. Took the theme 'connected worlds' quite literally, and executed it well.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:36am

Nice game, I like the background colors and the combo.

StencylTuo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:37am

Fun little game. There wasn't much to it, but what you did with it was done well. Good job.

Joseph says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:50am

Very cool.

Zigsfi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:55am

Made me feel extremely happy.

DarkUser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:51am

I like this idea fun game. Needs leaderboard!

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:27am

I like the risk/reward aspect of it. Do I go for that x6 string and possibly run out, or do I play it safe with a lot of smaller combos? Good stuff. The only thing is that I wish there was more to it, like different shaped planets for more combos, or enemies or something.

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:06am

Fun! I wanted a gas-meter to know how far I could push it (but I guess you figure that one out pretty quick by trial and error, haha). Clever name, too :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Really fun! My greed was often my downfall.

c023-dev says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:41pm

Good game! With Techno! Yey! Thumbs and toes up! =D

John Drury says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:06am

Excellent! Lovely concept. Would be great mobile game. Has potential!

Axebane says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:24am

Simple but fun. Good work!

diamondgfx says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:27am

A very enjoyable pick-up and play game!

MechanicMoon says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:19am

Good concept! I loved it, but it's stressful trying to unite a majority of points, always need more time! ;) I play it a lot of time.. >.<

kyru says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 6:13pm

Very fun game, well put together and plays nicely. Good choice of music for gameplay as well.

moi93101 says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 6:14pm

I don't know why, but it let me a strange impress. I think a round is too short, or I don't know ...

Danman9914 says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 6:35pm

Nice interfaces and solid concept! Wish there was some deeper systems here, was hoping passing over my own string and turning it yellow was mechanic but it didnt seem to be. Would have been nice to start with a shorter round to begin with but slick graphics and smooth gameplay. Nice work

Sep 13, 2014 @ 9:05pm

Love this mechanic. Could be a little bit smoother, but this is great stuff.

raddevon says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 12:36pm

Love the way the score sound gets higher pitched with each successive link crossing. Tickles my lizard brain.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]