Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Trade routes

by Shivur - Jam Entry

Hey everybody,

This is my second participation.
This time I had a very bad start so I decided to make the 72hrs jam instead. I'm proud of my decision because it's more finished and has a more profound gameplay than my first entry.

The goal is to create trade routes between planets for your ship to exchange and bring you space Kredits. The price of the trading items depends on the resources used to create it and the resources available on the planet where it's sold. Adding movement to planets and some pirates and we have a good challenge.

Hope you enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness93%
#190Theme(Jam)3.56
#397Overall(Jam)3.20
#417Innovation(Jam)2.98
#425Fun(Jam)2.96
#473Humor(Jam)2.18
#526Mood(Jam)2.83
#540Graphics(Jam)2.96
#631Audio(Jam)1.81

Comments

Vennril says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:47pm

Just played (and finished!) your game. I don't usually like sim games, but this was fun :)

Lord bobyness says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:00am

This was fun. It seemed pretty easy(connect as many planets as possible and wait) but I still felt quite powerful setting up trade routes. I've seen other AAA games like this where getting a ship/space ship to go between to locations is quite hard. Here, I could just click and drag and the ship went, and I felt like a god!

Shivur says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:41am

Haha! Thanks!

MrSylar59 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:43pm

Quite fun and easy but I noticed some of my space ship disapear is it a bug or it's me ?

Good job !

Literal Games says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:59pm

Fun! I found it a little unclear how trade routes worked at first, but once I figured it out then building a little trade empire was cool!

Shivur says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:04pm

Yes it's normal. If you go throught a pirates zone there's a chance your ship will "disappear". You can reduce that chance by buying ships with more weapons.

Jaenis says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Nice little game!

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:08pm

I have the feeling that I'm not done to understand how to play the game, however the idea is good and the game is well

Dissiden7 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Nice. It's funny how I basically based myself in the same concept.

Cool to see how we went in different directions. :)

goffmog says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:10pm

Awesome! Kind of the thing I was going for with my game except 48 hours wasn't really long enough to give the player many gameplay options and/or flesh out the types of goods available, etc.

danbo says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:28pm

I wanna play Warpath95 now

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:32pm

Ah, dude this game was super fun. One of my favorites thus far.I like the concept and the random planet generation!

madk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:59pm

Fun! The planets and piracy zones have a nasty tendency to overlap in a way that completely screws over my plans.

Loren says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:35pm

very fun :) really enjoyed it, nice job!

MicroChasm says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:41pm

I like the idea, I like the graphics, and I like the details. A little tutorial or explanation would be nice though-- It was hard to tell what I was supposed to do.

Shivur says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:06pm

Thanks for the comment, but I did a tutorial/explanation. It's on the main menu.

JangoBrick says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:20pm

Solid concept. Once I figured out how to connect them, it was great fun! I would have liked it better if the universe was bigger (= more planets to connect). Also this could have used some audio.
But overall, good game with enjoyable gameplay. Well done!

Ryusui says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:36am

Really clever idea. I just wish there was more (or more obvious) feedback regarding which routes are profitable and which ones aren't. Seems a bit like trial-and-error.

I also got a weird bug where the readouts for two different planets displayed on top of each other, making both illegible.

Crefossus says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:26am

This was my first idea (without implementation details) before I chickened out and went to something easier, so more power to you for giving it a go!

I like how you added in the dynamic risk (since everything moved) of the pirates and you had me hooked until I won :) Gj!

Selecting/changing the trade routes seems a little strange. I lost which ship is which visually.

vividhelix says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:29am

This was deeper than it looked at first sight. I liked how the planets and the pirates moved, it added an extra layer of complexity...

jpverkamp says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:05pm

Could have been a little more clear about what you can buy and sell where, but it was an amusing enough distraction for a while. Took a while to figure out how to use more than one kind of ship too. Wow that helps a lot. :)

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:24am

Awesome graphics, cool idea too. Good job!

Ted Brown says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Definitely something empowering about this quiet little game. :)

I encourage anyone doing a trading game (or anything involving transactions) to please have a pop up showing what the result of the trade would be, instead of us figuring it out in our heads. ;)

Shivur says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:32am

I agree I should have added the amount spent or gained over the ships each time a transaction is done.

Tosic says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:10am

Nice work!
I like the graphics!

Ramiel says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 6:37pm

Good game. The graphics are really nice.
And: Yeay, I bought the universe. :)

StMatn says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 11:07pm

Nice idea!
To be honest, I didn't understand the mechanics, so I did just try-and-error, until I had a profitable route and just let the game run in background. A more dynamic economy-system would have been great.
I had two planets really close to each other and realized, that you can have multiple ships. That lead to an exploitation of that extreme short route with all ships. From there it was a matter of seconds until the universe was mine ;)
Maybe you could let the player decide which trade to make and give the planets a minimum distance to maintain.
All in all great work!

timtipgames says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 9:10am

I think I have an idea where you tried to go with this game, but I find it very confusing. I think for improvement of the game it would be essential to improve the feedback-loop between player and game. I found it hard to understand which ships I controlled, where they were heading and why they disappeared despite the fact that they had weapons when they approached pirate nests.
Good job for your second participation!

hoyt hoy says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 3:09pm

Good game, little and fun ^^

Shivur says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 8:27pm

The weapons don't protect entirely. It just decrease the chances of disappearing. For the rest I agree I should make more feedback between player and game. I tried to put the more possible but it wasn't enough.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]