Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Nigel - Hero of the universe

by ruerob - Jam Entry

Once upon a time there was war in the universe. Everyone wanted to attack the humans. But one day the aliens discovered something that changed everything. It was made by humans. The ultimate pleasure. PIIIIIIIZZAAAA!!!

You play Nigel, hero of the universe. You have to deliver the delicious disc of smell and taste to bring peace and pizza to everyone.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#89Humor(Jam)3.41
#359Graphics(Jam)3.45
#448Innovation(Jam)2.93
#496Mood(Jam)2.88
#649Audio(Jam)1.54
#663Overall(Jam)2.76
#682Fun(Jam)2.40
#715Theme(Jam)2.02

Comments

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:13am

Graphics & characters are really cool! Nice job!

Budda says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:24am

Weird little game, wasn't expecting the math aspect at all. Had some problems with the second one though, put in the right change and it didn't accept it, so not sure what happened there, probably not enough feedback on whether you complete the order or fail it, and what to do next.

ruerob says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:35am

There is a little rounding error that occures sometimes because the tasks are random generated. I know how to fix it but time is up. But I want to make a post compo version where the game is like it was planned.

soerxpso says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:40am

I absolutely love the graphics, and the green circle guy is adorable. The math aspect was interesting, but I would have liked to see it alongside something a bit more complex. I think it would have added a ton if you would have just done something as simple as making the map bigger and adding a bit of a challenging little simplistic mario-style platforming level.

parahunter says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:49am

I think the game could really use a tutorial. I find it very confusing. After having delivered pizza to two aliens (snake and ghost) it does not look like I can do anything else. Controls works pretty well.

ruerob says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:05am

It was planned bigger, with a scrolling world and much more aliens to deliver pizza to. But unfortunatly this LD was together with my daughters last weekend in freedom (her first year at school has begun monday), so I hadn't much time to do all planned stuff. But I want to make that game complete.

Ryusui says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:56am

The change-making aspect was unexpected (the interface could be tweaked to make what you're supposed to be doing a bit clearer), but clever. I love the overall graphical style, and I'd love to see this game completed someday (even just the addition of some audio would make a huge difference!)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:02am

i love the story about the The ultimate pleasure. PIIIIIIIZZAAAA!!!

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:13pm

Who doesn't love pizza?I had trouble figuring out how to select change for the customer...I will check back in if I see an explanation. Thanks!

01010111 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:16pm

Love the concept - it could be taken waay further! Pizza <3

SilverToad says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:24pm

Funny hat animation +)

PapaCheech says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:57am

didn't expect math... this game was freakin sweet.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:42am

I couldn't understand how to calculate the change:/ I like pizza tho! :)

ninjascript says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:45am

Really cool way to teach your daughter about programming. I hope she had fun :)

majorcrampas says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:52am

had no clue what to do at the beginning but the graphics kept me playing :)

Oxeren says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:02am

Nice and kind game vith pretty graphics :)

jimmypaulin says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:36pm

I really enjoyed the mood of this one, gorgeous visuals and solid construction. The hud and maths aspect was refreshing, not at all what I was expecting - the connected worlds are 'games' and 'maths tuition'? ;) When my daughter is old enough this is the kind of game I'll be introducing her too :D

mrbungle says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Awesomely cute graphics, like the inclusive of the maths aspect. Sweet little game.

yodamaster says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:19pm

What to to after two deliveries?

MerlijnVH says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:06pm

That was really creative, very cool!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:02pm

aww, this is lovely :)

McFunkypants says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:12am

Very interesting and unexpected game mechanic! nice work!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Hi there. Not rated yet. Nothing seemed to work once "change the money" was displayed. I reloaded it and still nothing once get to that point. Clicking all over the place, no effect. Chrome/W8.1

Rocketship says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Funny game, I liked the graphics a lot. The basic gameplay mechanic is very simple but come on, the game is adorable!

nonetheless says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Very nice idea and nice execution. Maybe I'm not fan of the character, but I like the small things, like the cap, and graphics in general :) Great job!

paps says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:25am

Nice game. Too bad there is no sound.

steve says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:31pm

The rounding error made me question my ability to mental arithmetic, but otherwise the idea of combining a platformer with maths puzzles is a cool one

ponk says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:54pm

Nice pixels!
I like the animations too

ViliX says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Math? Oh boy..

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]