Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

All In Your Head

by TheZiggy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

All In Your Head
============
"An amazing platformer adventure!"


**Please use the web version if you can! The game was made for the web and does not work/look as well in the mac and windows versions**

All In Your Head is a game about the conscious and subconscious mind, featuring an original game mechanic. It comes fully equipped with a few interesting levels and even a functional level editor!

.::Instructions::.
W, A, & D to move. Shift to change between conscious and subconscious modes. (More in-depth instructions are in the game)
In the level editor, press spacebar to place an object.

This is my second ever Ludum Dare that I participated in! I believe I did much better then my last one and ended up creating a really cool game. I do wish I had just a little bit more time to add more levels and maybe touch up on some things, but it turned out to be a great game.


Edit: Fixed the minor movement bug. Everything should move smoothly now (except for the jumping). There are a few very rare game-breaking bugs; if you come across one please just refresh and re-try.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#681Audio2.47
#743Humor2.07
#926Innovation2.64
#991Theme2.50
#1023Overall2.68
#1038Mood2.26
#1117Graphics2.11
#1124Fun2.14

Comments

Robinerd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:00am

Interesting touch of the theme, but a bit too fast for me combined with the jumping feeling tricky when you hit the roof made it a bit difficult to control the character. Otherwise quite finished and complete. I would have preferred it without the stressful randomized music though.

Elforama says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:03am

Nice mechanic, although it was a bit hard for me.

GreenyUk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:22am

I agree with previous comments, the game-play is very fast but unfortunate the controls can't accommodate that. Cool interpretation of the theme though!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:27am

This is a hard game. This is a funny game. It is possible for the enemies to get stuck when you are not in subconscious modes. They get stuck near the vertical walls sometimes(after I hit them).

siat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:30am

Neat idea! It was tough to jump to the right place, though.

alvarop says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:41am

Had some issues running it (everything went a bit too fast) and there were a few game-breaking bugs and compatibility issues that made it hard for me to enjoy it.

Good effort and keep it up.

Fanttum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:17am

Jumps too fast, gameplay clunky, and the art was very bland

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:25am

Difficult, and rather interesting! Nice! :D

TheZiggy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:27am

---------
I Just fixed the movement bugs and such. Everything (except jumping) should move smoothly now.

donan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:09am

Interesting idea :)

MrTedders says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:19am

Jumping was rather fast, but it was a solid game otherwise.

esayitch says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:40pm

Hiya!
I liked the graphics and the audio a bit. The game was pretty hard to control and way to fast, though the core time-stop mechanic would have been pretty fun to explore otherwise, as I liked the level design of the levels I actually managed to beat.

Good luck!

danidre14 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:20pm

Interesting, graphics are okay! And I liked it!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:02am

Hi there. Interesting idea. Like the on/off movement, seeing monster physics stop is reminiscent of Braid. The platforming itself is a bit creaky, gravity too high or something, also gaps not necessarily big enough for clean jumps. Good basis for something to build on.

Aglavra says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:11pm

I liked the idea itself, but the levels could be designed better: they are too tricky.

Acuity says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 10:16pm

It's pretty hard hard to get past the first screen... and then the second screen bugged out and scrolled far past my character and I ended up dying. Pretty frustrating...

binasa says ...
Jul 24, 2017 @ 4:40pm

Follow Limbo on Facebook or Twitter, from your desktop or your iPhone, to see where Faithfull goes next, and what he chooses to draw there.http://topdownloadfreetorrent.net/transportation/lexmark-x8350-vista-driver.php If you hav repeat shows, you can duplicate a previous slip and just change the date and time.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]