Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

GRAVCOMM

by doomista - Jam Entry

First big LD entry of mine and my friends.
Simply put, you and your ship are the only trade connection of two planets. While travelling from one to another you are affected by gravitation fields of other space objects. Find out the best trajectory to safely land with your shuttle. You can help yourseft with a single afterburner but more challenging is to finish levels without it!
--------
Mousewheel - adjust launch power
Mouse - rotate shuttle
LMB - launch shuttle/use afterburner
R - restart in case of need
ESC - return back to main menu
--------
Creative team:
doomista - coding, overall design, music
Tripeq - level design, overal design
Papooch - art, remarks
--------
Help and Options in main menu are not done, thus they're not working
--------
Give us feedback so we know it is worth it to continue work on this project

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#224Fun(Jam)3.31
#260Theme(Jam)3.43
#261Humor(Jam)2.70
#353Overall(Jam)3.27
#401Mood(Jam)3.05
#417Innovation(Jam)2.98
#470Audio(Jam)2.82
#532Graphics(Jam)2.98

Comments

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:31am

Fun concept - I like your iteration on the theme. :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:35am

Nice concept, but if you want more people to play I reccomend placing the executable in the base folder, currently you have to dig for it in the BIN folder. also, I wish the after burner had some effects, more force to it, or some type of significant feedback so that i can actually tell when, how, what it is doing.

g_o says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:37am

Wow! Awesome for a great entry!
I liked the prediction system!
Pretty polished, and kinda fun!
great :)

Tosic says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:50am

Really nice game, also the theme is well interpreted!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:36pm

Lovely little game - enjoyed running my own NASA. Great work!

J-d-H says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:14pm

I like the gameplay. But feel the musik is really anyoing.

parahunter says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Quite fun. The font is really hard to read. Afterburner did not seem to do anything.

doomista says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:50pm

@parahunter, @GraveyardPolice: afterburner does really help even it's a bit weaker. You have to know that force vector of afterburner adds itself to the main movement vector of the shuttle. We tested all the levels so it is possible to play them without the AB and in each level we found at least one or two alternative ways using the AB. If we will continue with development we will do something about the power.

Capitals says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:52pm

The sound for completing a stage is satisfying however the general music is irritating. Despite this it is a really enjoyable and fun game.

doomista says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:04pm

@Capitals: sorry about the music, music artist was unavailable and this was something for debug I created while playing with this: http://www.earslap.com/page/otomata.html

doomista says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:15am

By the way, you can manually turn the music off in the config file (in the Data folder) by setting the MusicVolume parameter to 0

CodeNMore says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:08pm

I like the concept and controls, good use of theme.

PERECil says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:04pm

This game reminds me a similar game where you had to shoot missiles at enemy planets (some kind of Worms! in space). Very cool.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:27pm

You mastered theme and you mastered the fun. Great entry!

doomista says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:09am

Thanks all of you guys for the support! It's very important to me, so I know that there's reason to continue the development :)

Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:26pm

Really nice idea! Really enjoyable!

JNyknn says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Interesting idea and challenging gameplay.

PeerPlay says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:39pm

Loved the game, music was annoying.

LexGear says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:20pm

mac :(

doomista says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:05pm

To everybody who has linux or mac: you can try some kind of emulator but I don't have any mac or linux computer so I cannot port and test it, so sorry. Maybe for some future LD I will have some linux installed for porting, but right now I am unable to do so.

jomomomo says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:30pm

I can't play on windows... any chance for a web version?

doomista says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:10pm

I am purely a SDL+OGL desktop programmer, so no :/ . I definitely have to learn something web friendly for next LD

sudorossy says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:33pm

Solid game. Graphics aren't the best, but not bad for something made in 72 hours! :)

Tex Killer says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:33am

Interesting. Couldn't finish it because my mousewheel is broken, but it is fun.

geekygenius says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Cool concept for a game. I liked the music. I couldn't figure out how to use the afterburner though.

Moosefly says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 9:35am

Very safe approach on the theme and a good execution. Solid gameplay, but I feel like it didn't quite hook me. Something was missing, but I can't say what. Maybe the afterburner should be more powerful and a required part of the solution for each level? The music got somewhat annoying and in my opinion the predictor was too long. Still, a good solid game. Well done!

Joona@MooseflyGames

Anti says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 1:11pm

Fun concept and pretty nice execution. Feels polished and a great entry in general!

Sep 14, 2014 @ 7:03pm

Nice game! Feels complete and well done. I included it in part 24 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/3RN80xyak-c

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]