Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Signals

by Saphyre - Jam Entry

Still a lot to come : black holes, satellites to help you catch signals when it seems impossible, asteroides, upgrades, and more tutorial...
UPDATE 09/03/2014 : a new tuto, new controls, and ONE new level ! Enjoy !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#22Theme(Jam)4.10
#202Innovation(Jam)3.38
#204Graphics(Jam)3.83
#344Fun(Jam)3.10
#345Overall(Jam)3.28
#413Humor(Jam)2.35
#481Mood(Jam)2.92
#1319Coolness47%

Comments

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:23pm

Different, but quite interesting game. I loved it.

pcmccull says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:24pm

Nice graphics and fun use of the theme.

mramaizng says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:28pm

The game is very fitting. The worlds are really cute. My only complaint is that I wanted more interesting challenges and MORE challenges in general. The game plays very smooth. The controls are simple and everything works the way you expect. Well done!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:29pm

I enjoyed how squishy and alive the planets and dishes felt. A nice representation of space, light and cartoony.

Some small audio cues when you make contact between planets would have been nice.

The other objects you have planned sound like they will really elevate gameplay.

Nice job.

jgthespy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:42pm

I really like the art and the way everything blobs around. Cool idea too. I liked trying to set things up before sending off the first signal. I always overlooked something in my path.

TinyHat says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Well executed, brilliant idea, i'd encourage you to polish it and publish it. This is the kind of game I wouldn't mind finding on the App/Play stores at all.

psychonull says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:59pm

the idea is pretty innovate. interesting game. I liked the art but the camera control was annoying, I couldn't manage it good. And I think the tutorial be fixed to the camera instead of the world, it was a moment where I was zoomed into a world and the tutorial was in another one so I couldn't see it.
Great game, It has potencial
Doesn't have audio, right? (I didn't voted on audio cause I couldnt heard anything)

Saphyre1306 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:05am

Hey guys ! Thanks a lot for all your critiques and comments. We are still working on it to improve things and... add audio ^_^ We'll keep you posted soon ;-)

hellochar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:07am

Cool! tutorial was really useful. Graphics were responsive and felt clean!

1. It's not apparent which planet is the "default" one; why not just have the initial emitter on from the start?

2. Zoom/pan and rotate controls were wonky. I think clicking+dragging the planets to rotate would have felt better. Similarly, holding mouse-wheel to pan is strange. I never used zoom, after zooming out as much as possible.

3. Dunno why you go back to "SIGNALS" home screen every time you win the level; just jump to the next one!

4. A camera bounds would be really useful, especially since you don't know if there might be a planet off-screen that wasn't onscreen initally

ViliX says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:35am

Great concept :)

dancingmad says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:10pm

Interesting gameplay and quite good graphics ; controls could be more intuitive and accurate.

We would like to see more worlds and mechanics ^^

Vudu says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:28am

Love the design of the game. The beams are sometimes hard to spot in front of the dark background (espacially the red one), but overall it's a very nice and consistent game.
I'll check out the new content soon :)

Saphyre1306 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:29am

Hey guys ! An update is coming this week !
Controls are going to be more intuitive, and tutorial is going to be... well, more readable :-)

dook says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Awesome graphics and a neat idea. Could work well with a touch interface I suppose :)

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:59pm

Nice!! Once I got used to spinning the planets and I went into it, the game worked just as I expected and even delivered a little more with each level. Great concept and execution. Well done!

ponk says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 8:21pm

Great game!
Nice meshes and cool bouncy animations

Jaloko says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 8:47am

Very intuitive game. I felt rotating the planets precisely was a bit hard. Overall though great job.

Aomeas says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 9:12am

As I see this "UPDATE 09/03/2014 : a new tuto, new controls, and ONE new level ! Enjoy !", I don't think you can do that after the 72 hours. I haven't played before the update, so I can't tell if you really added content to your game, but be careful with the rules, guys.
A planet in the last level doesn't need to be linked to the others, must be a bug ^_^
Otherwise, that's a simple but yet effective game! :3

igoramendola says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 8:18pm

Interesting concept and fits very well with the theme :D

And like Aomeas said, be careful with the rules. It would be interesting if you make available the 2 versions: compo and post-compo.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]