Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

> Continue

by ratking - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A simple collaborative story thing.

Unfortunately I didn't feel well this LD, so it became this short narrative experiment where you figuratively connect your world with others. Yeah, it's not much story right now, but this is part of the experiment. Perhaps you have some cool things to tell? (PS: Writing your own path is part of the game!)

Used fonts: Chunkfive Roman and Fira Sans Book
Music generated with Otomata (http://www.earslap.com/page/otomata.html)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#97Innovation3.89
#184Humor3.07
#194Mood3.46
#436Audio2.88
#536Overall3.23
#568Theme3.24
#668Fun2.91
#920Graphics2.51

Comments

datacr4sh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:28am

got a web player crash error with this one, sorry :(

tigerbyte says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:55am

I'm not typically a choose-your-own-adventure type of gamer, but I like the fact that you can enter your own path and upvote/downvote others. That's a great concept and I may bookmark this and come back to it later in the voting to see what other people have added.

Kinta says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:21am

This is awesome! I love interactive stories and the fact that I could be part of it made it special. I know it's not the first of its kind, but very well done, the atmosphere was really nice. And the best thing: this game becomes better, the more people play it. Will definitely come back to this one.

MerlijnVH says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:41am

From the moment I realized how the game worked, I loved it! To me, one of the most original games this Ludum Dare. I'm curious to see how it will grow as more people play.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:08pm

Excellent... Something to show structure of nearby bits of story would be nice, but maybe that's for a separate mode. Added to revisit list.

hirsch says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:53pm

I am playing the Linux build (+1) and I encountered an issue: If I add my own path and write an "r" in the textbox the whole game resets to the first screen.

Beside this the idea is really interesting and I want to see how this approach will develop :)

ratking says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:27pm

@hirsch: Yeah, that was a game-breaking bug ... I think I fixed it, you might want to try it again!

NnelGdaBandit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:30pm

Pretty innovative idea, I dig it!

blindfox says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:02pm

This idea is super interesting. You may not have had time to flesh it out, but keep working with this, please. Never seen an experience like this before that allows others to influence your decisions.

Endurion says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Nothing groundbreaking new, but nicely made.

I wanted to add a new option, but it said "Error in first field".

ruerob says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:08pm

Very nice idea. This could become very interesting, if everyone would do a little story addition. Thank you for this game. It's great.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:08pm

I liked the fact that you put the story in the gamer's hands. I wish you had had more time to make this game. I definitely see its potential. GOOd luck!

ratking says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:43pm

@Endurion: What did you enter in the first field? It needs at least 5 and less than 256 characters.

Cryovat says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:09pm

I like the presentation and concept a lot. The graphical style and music sets a nice mood and I like the outset. Going to be interesting to come back and see where people take the story. :)

01010111 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:20pm

Really awesome concept - it will be interesting to see how this changes during the course of voting!

abeing says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:00pm

super innovative idea! I loved it to go a specific path and then invent new ones :) really really cool idea

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:15pm

What a great idea! I really need to remind myself to play it again at the end of the voting to see what's changed.

Floko says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:24am

This. is. AMAZING!

ahahah the mechanics are so simple, but this is my favorite game. FIVE STARS BRO!!

FlashRocks says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:45pm

Neat concept, though it should have been fleshed out more. Hope you get well soon!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:46am

I'm not a big fan of text adventures but this one is nice.

samooJAM says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Interesting idea. I love this kind of games where you can be part of creating a story.

zatyka says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:34am

Great implementation of the theme. I enjoyed adding some more pieces to the narrative.

Artamus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:53pm

Nice idea!

frogcheese says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Pretty neat. Not a whole lot of "game", but I like the experimental feel of it, and it certainly fits the theme.

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:27pm

This reminds me of that one XKCD comic.

brodavi says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:11pm

Oh man this is the best! Love it! I hope it becomes super popular and the stories get bigger and better! Such potential!

Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:36pm

Huh, an interesting little experiment.

I'm not sure much of the game was in there already when first published, but some of the writing is quite good.

I like music, and the interface is visually simple but appealing.

OFF says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:54pm

Like i love, simple and SO powerful.
Like many collaborative experiment it could fall into sexual, religious, anger speech... but it could also emerge with truly surprising option who create a powerful adventure.
The purpose is noble, the final could be terrible, but at the end the path would always be wonderful.
+5 for the innovation ;)

commodoreKid says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:18pm

It is a very original idea to make players write the story by themselves. If it was a game played by hundreds or thousands of players, would be really interesting with that many storylines. Very innovative entry.

SteveSalmond says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 10:11am

Oh, this is a really great idea! I couldn't resist adding a few entries here and there. Will have to check back in a week or two to see how the paths have evolved! Not bad for a sick person... ;)

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 9:40am

I love narrative games, but it felt strange to read one where people could collaborate so that meant there were paths with very different writing style from others and which did not make much sense. Could an editing system like Wikipedia uses be used here to improve it? Very innovative though and would like to see how this is further developed. Well done!

HotBoxGames says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 11:13pm

Really like the interactive story. Plus choose your own path? Now that's just awesome. Will be bookmarking and coming back to some no doubt interesting narratives.

Great job - make this into a full game before someone else does!

wdebowicz says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 5:23pm

Nice idea, I would like to see something bigger with this concept.

AnonTheMouse says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Really loving what you did here! This is the kind of thing I'd love to share with a lot of my friends.

TobiasW says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 9:36pm

That's really cool idea you have here - I like how the theme spawned increasingly more games with online content than normal LDs. Your concept even accounts for the asynchronous nature of LD voting participation.

While I understand why showing the score of entry is a good thing, it feels a bit too guiding to me - and I always wondered how deep each path will go because I wanted to explore what's already there!

I feel like this game would've worked better with some sort of creative limits like the boardgame storytelling games - words that you have to use, locations etc. But well, either I'm a bit late with voting; whatever I'd write now is unlikely to spawn many new paths, so my motivation is low there. Wish I would've had time to play this earlier!

Sascha says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Very awesome idea. Simple, elegant idea, and yet it has so much potential! I'd very much like to see a couple different story seeds of this game get set after the jam and just let loose for a couple of months, gathering awesome and weird and stupid entries.
Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]