Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Wormhole TD

by FinnMacd - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The idea of a TD is definitely not original but this is my first ludum dare so I wanted a straight forward idea. I'm only 15 years old and I've never taken any official course or class so i'm just happy with what I've got. on a regular computer it can take from 10-15 seconds for the game to load so if you have a white screen for a while the game should load soon. I've only ever made one big game before by my self so this was a great learning experience for me and i'm looking forward to joining the next one.

after selecting a difficulty level you can purchase and place towers of different calibers by clicking on them and then clicking again somewhere within the yellow bounds.When you are ready you can click the start button to face the evil different coloured squares!(if you haven't noticed I can't do pixel art)

ps. I didn't have all that long to test out the levels so if their to easy/hard please let me know

update: if you are receiving errors when running the regular windows application, try the fat version. This may add 5-10 seconds to loading on a regular computer because the application also needs to load all the referenced libraries.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#642Mood2.88
#882Fun2.67
#1015Overall2.69
#1035Theme2.39
#1088Graphics2.18
#1117Innovation2.19

Comments

someone9999 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:19am

Can't seem to get the game to run. I just get a popup saying that a Java Exception has occured.

Running windows 7 64bit

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:26am

Not bad for your first LD! The basic mechanics of a TD game are all there and seem to be working fine when I tried it out. On balancing, the blue towers seemed to be way more effective than the other ones. I started out at your age learning from tutorials and just digging into code. When I finally took a couple programming courses in college, I didn't learn anything new relevant to making games.

komjaur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:34am

not bad

TD5 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:37am

I get an exception Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: main/LD : Unsupported major.minor version 52.0 on OS X Mavericks :(

Andrew Adams says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:11pm

Jar will not execute on my Mac. Sorry

Tanser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:23pm

Nice for first Ludum Dare. Keep it up. :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:34pm

Can't run the game... Win 7 64bit

FinnMacd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:43pm

it runs fine on my win 7... i'll try and look in to it

Knowledge says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:06pm

Java Exception.

stink123456 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:32pm

A java exception has occured ;(

Rothens says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:14pm

For me too.. :( Which Java version did you build this for?

bobrocks says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:38pm

Runs fine for me. Not a bad first attempt! Enjoyable!

KingBolonzo says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:16pm

nice work for your age hope to c u in next LD!!

Lvyn says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Great for a first game ! Keep pushing ! Basic graphics but working game mechanics most important part for a game ;)

fisholith says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 11:19am

All the core mechanics for tower defense look solid here. Everything is very smooth. Nice work. :)
I started out programming games as a hobby too. :D
Definitely keep at it.

One thing that helped me was working both directly with programming languages (e.g. Java), and with graphical programming tools (e.g. Construct 2). I learned a lot of different stuff from each.

On the text side, you see more of the behind the scenes work that gets glossed over in the graphical tools. On the flipside, In the graphical tools you can prototype some concepts faster, so you get to experiment and revise more rapidly and more often.

You might want to check out Unity, as well as Construct Classic (freeware), and Construct 2 (commercial successor).

The other thing that's helped me, much more recently, is doing jams. I swear, almost nothing encourages getting things done like small projects, and 3rd-party deadlines. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]