Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Clashed

by dusho - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Virtual and physical world clashed.
Exterminate tainted circuits, eliminate main evil one.
Use 4 warriors (2 physical, 2 virtual, mixture or melee and ranged), spend their attacks and movements during the turn then press 'Next Turn' to let enemies have they run.
Physical units can't damage virtual ones. Virtuals are the 8bit sprity ones..

Controls:
Mouse dragging (sliding)for map panning, movement and melee attack. Attack button for ranged attacks (right mouse click to cancel targeting)

Used:
Unity 4.6 beta (was not best idea - fighting with lots of new UI stuff)
Paint.NET

UPDATE (03-Sep-2014): uploaded version with fixed moving sync bug, also PMG art is now less Atari originals like

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#436Humor2.50
#892Fun2.65
#936Innovation2.63
#936Graphics2.49
#964Overall2.78
#968Audio1.60
#974Mood2.44
#1052Theme2.35

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:42pm

Fun game! I accidentally shot my own guys once or twice. Maybe including a flat interface for attacking like keyboard + mouse would work better than click and drag? Thanks for sharing!

Xgor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:17pm

Oooh a turn based strategy game <3
The concept is nice but there is no reason to not use a virtual character because they are plainly just better and astro can pretty much shoot everything without any worries.

BinaryPie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:49pm

Fun, RTS is a nice change of pace.

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:52am

Pretty cool. It would be nice if virtual units weren't strictly better.
Also, your web link seems to be broken.

tigerbyte says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:56am

I thought the click and drag worked pretty well. I got stuck a few times because I'd click and drag and the guy would attack, but not physically move, but logically move. So I couldn't move him again until I figured out where the game moved him to. Usually it was whatever spot on the map didn't have an empty ground tile.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:31am

The play area was a little messed up on the web version. but what I played I liked. good effort.

deepnight says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:54pm

Nice and fun tactical game :)
The AI acts in a really strange way: sometime they attack me, sometimes they just wander, ignoring me while I shoot at them.

bluesky says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:11pm

this game is Fun well done.

yodamaster says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:26pm

I didn't get it fully. But I noticed you ripped some sprites from other games, which is not allowed.

Dry Tree says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 7:41am

A bit easy, but still a fun game. I would like to be able to see tiles within attack range light up when I click on an enemy unit, because I only got hit twice and it was from ranged units but I thought I was far enough away. Good job overall :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]