Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Delirium

by ruthiepee - 48 Hour Compo Entry

After the young protagonist falls ill, she becomes extremely tired and susceptible to delusions.
Help her navigate between real life and the dream world in order to find inner peace.
///////////

A click-and-pick adventure game drawn, programmed, and animated entirely in Flash.

CONTROLS: Mouse only. Move left/right, click to jump, and click on objects.
HINT: Click the bed to travel between worlds.

DISCLAIMER: Sorry the collision detection is garbage-- I'm learning! Also, sometimes objects are hard to click because they are behind the player. Try moving the player out of the way.

Special thanks to RVA Game Jams for hosting.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#47Humor3.70
#174Mood3.48
#198Theme3.74
#237Graphics3.64
#486Overall3.28
#569Innovation3.14
#689Fun2.89
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

Suvidriel says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:08am

Haha this was awesome :D

NickFrushour says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:08am

+5 Humor for the SoMI reference

haveric says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:09am

This is a pretty cool game, but I feel the use of a single button control strange. This really needs a way to differentiate actions. Currently I'm just hopping up and down whenever I want to interact with something. It feels like there's a lot of potential, but just needs some more finely tuned controls.

ReddogStone says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:09am

It's a nice and a bit unusual adventure. I couldn't progress beyond the second dream, unfortunately. I like the visual style a lot. The controls seem quite peculiar, specifically having to jump over objects, even people.

uvwar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:32am

When I was just outside the house I clicked and instantly went somewhere else, so I'm not sure what happened there. Also I don't think my bag triggered? Nice gam though Ruthay!!

DJWizardCop says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:38pm

The ending made me laugh :D

01010111 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:49pm

Awesome art, great mood, lots of humor - nice work!

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:51am

The mood meshes well with the graphics. Very well done!

nikki93 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:24am

lol the ending is hilarious. I liked playing this a lot! Good art style too. Well done.

Pavel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:03am

Cool idea, funny game.

Marcellus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:00pm

This game was a very good experience. Thanks.

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:34pm

That was very very very strange. I agree with haveric about the controls. But still, I wanted more. Of the weirdness.

The video game reference did feel a bit out of place.

Really nice graphics!

IHateATMFees says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:21am

ha loved the ending! the collision stuff is easy to fix, I hope you keep making more games

foolmoron says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Your poignant, dark humor is the best! I like how you always go far outside the box, and try to expand your skills.

xrm0 says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 10:58am

It's interesting, but I don't like to be jumping everywhere.

grillaface says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 12:31am

So gifted! Love the way you tell a story.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]