Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Planetary Nunchuks

by Evil Scotsman - Jam Entry

Planetary nunchuks!

Things have come to a point with the planet gangs and Jupiter, owner of the Solar System bar, has put out a hit on you. You'll have to use your nunchuks, forged with two worlds connected by moons, to fight through the Mars clones and put Jupiter in the ground, once and for all...

Instructions *Important*
W/S - Forward/backward
A/D - turn
mouse - swing chuks
mouse 1 - thrust chuks forward

Tip - use momentum to your advantage, wait till the nunchuk swings back then thrust it forward to swing them out in front of you.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#40Humor(Jam)3.81
#87Innovation(Jam)3.68
#186Fun(Jam)3.39
#299Theme(Jam)3.35
#354Mood(Jam)3.13
#424Overall(Jam)3.16
#492Graphics(Jam)3.10
#505Audio(Jam)2.69

Comments

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:38am

Aaaah, this is so great. I love the meaty little sound effects. Excellent theme adherence.

Kyle Mac says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:41am

I like flinging the nunchuks at people. I wish it had more impact though.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:44am

Awesome nunchucks! Fun, but simple, game.

kewry says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:47am

I have no idea of what just happened but that was some crazy ass kicking.

Maxium says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:10am

Well, that's certainly taking the theme literally. It could really use some sound effects. It would also benefit from standard FPS controls instead of partial keyboard.

pjchardt says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:13am

Nice nunchuck action :) Would be nice to have some variation on enemies and some resources to manage such as health.

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:19am

This was hilarious, simply amazing. Good job

mlabarca says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:19am

Wtf did I just play? this was hilarious, great job.

RodRoy1 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:26am

Very nice game, fit the theme in a perfectly odd way.

jgthespy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:28am

That was hilarious. I love how you chose to work with the theme.

OathAlliance says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:56am

For some reason I feel like this was a big excuse just to mess around with Unity's physics engine.

Although, still an interesting game(and take on the theme) to say the least.

muumeroinen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:44am

No we are in theme!

Oana says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:45am

So ummm... I defeated Jupiter. I have to admit it was pretty damn satisfying to smack things around, even if the game is rather silly. Using AD to turn is rather annoying... Would maybe have been nicer if it was regular mouse look with click to swing nunchuks and right click to thrust forward.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:50am

is "Jupiter has been defeated" the end?

Ryusui says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:51am

Controls seem a little fudgy. Couldn't quite figure out how to work the nunchuks - simply clicking the mouse repeatedly seemed to suffice.

Also, it's a pain having to reload the page when you "die." I wasn't even sure what happened the first time the controls froze up. Some kind of "game over" feedback would've been much appreciated.

Lokiman says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:23pm

First it hit me with oldschool controls (rotating by keys) but overall it is really funny game! Jupiter gang stands no chance agains my nunchuks! .. and here I come again! :P

Evil Scotsman says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:53pm

Hello everyone, here to address some points. Firstly, thanks so much for all the kind comments, it's great to see that my joke was actually funny to you guys!

A lot of you have mentioned about the 'Doom' esque controls. That's in there because I really wanted the player to be able to swipe across the screen to attack instead of flailing the whole camera around. However, Oana, you're exactly right, that's a much better control scheme and I should have gone with that.

@Ryusui, that's odd because you can't actually die in this game. Sounds like it crashed, which sucks :C.

@GameDevExtreme, yeah, that's the ending.

KigurumiDevs says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:40am

Just fun :)

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:44am

I think there is some kind of bug for me.. There is no texture and every object is black..Also I can't do anything.. Can't rate by now

ViliX says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:34am

Needs a bit more polishing, but great game :)

MunkeeBacon says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:13am

I love everything about this.

Tanser says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:43am

Hahaha, at first I was a bit creeped - the weapon I decided was some kind of coral spine and the guys were really scary. Then I got the idea - I like it, its interesting and original!
Just I seemed not to be able to die? Any HP systems and etc.? Otherwise everything is really nice, good job! :)

DavidErosa says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:07pm

Haha, loved the way you used the theme! It was nice to see Jupiter as the final boss.

skiddings says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:09pm

I didn't seem to take any damage. As far as I could tell I was just murdering innocent planets. :(

PixelFeet says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 10:31pm

Great take on the theme. It wasn't particularly exciting, but the premise was cool and the nunchuck was satisfying.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]