Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Between Heaven & Hell

by IgIzzy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The game was built using Unity 3D,Photoshop and bfxr.com for the simple sound effects.

You play as an angel who has been stricken with a demonic disease. You will eventually become a demon, but with your last bit of goodness you will save as many souls as you can.

Press the left mouse button to ascend or descend into heaven or hell. Dodge the red demons while saving the bluish rectangle souls(programmer art for the win..haha).

How many souls can you save?

Postmortem to come soon.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#696Theme3.06
#892Fun2.65
#921Audio1.81
#992Innovation2.50
#1101Overall2.52
#1112Graphics2.12
#1626Coolness37%

Comments

hungyg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:58am

Programmer art indeed :D Cool concept!

IgIzzy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:33am

Haha yeah I got my dates mixed up and scheduled a family get together this weekend so I did not get anywhere near a full 48. I guess I figured hey its my first Ludum Dare, lets make it even more difficult to complete a project haha!

Vallar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:43am

I liked the concept a lot. I had fun playing the game. My highscore was 18 I think (which shows how much I suck at the game more than anything).
Throughout the multiple tries, the game was really fluid and nothing came out wrong or bugged. It worked flawlessly.

That said, it was hard having corruption increase automatically even though you didn't touch the orbs (although it has been explained), it just felt it add more difficulty. Though I liked the mechanic where the corruption decreases when you are in "heaven" and increases over time when you are in "hell" it was a good mechanic (albeit made the game more difficult).

The click to switch, I am guessing was designed perhaps for mobile in mind later on? Not sure. But I'd preferred to have more control on the square than just click and hope my trajectory would make me miss the orbs and get the souls.

Another thing that surprised me that every soul/corruption is in hell. I don't mind having no corruption in heaven (it is supposed to be like that) but I am sure there are some good souls in the world to warrant their existence in heaven. It felt that there is no point in going to heaven except to dodge what you find in hell.

There was no audio aside from sound effects, but I liked the sound effect that was playing. Wished there were more, but I am guessing timing limits.

All in all, I liked the concept and I definitely liked the gameplay, I wished I had more agency on my movement but still it worked out OK in the end.

Good work :)

IgIzzy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:24pm

Thanks for the feedback! The movement mechanic was based off of the magnetic suit from Jetpack Joyride. I really enjoyed how that power up felt to that game, and the difficulty it presented to control it.

As for the heaven and hell(and lack of items in heaven) there were going to be power-ups in heaven to help you combat the effects of the corruption and demons in hell. The reason none of the demons/souls were in heaven was due to the plot of the game asking the players to save lost souls.

I like what I ended up making, so I might run with it after the compo is done. All the feedback is appreciated!

Kyle Mac says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:08am

Cool game. I didn't realize that the circles were bad to collect at first though, haha.

MunkeeBacon says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:11am

Fun little game, the controls are a tad bit loose but if that was what you were going for then nice!

Ryusui says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:10am

Actually, I found the abstract graphics rather charming - a bit more polish on them and you could go with the "red circle demons" and "blue rectangle souls" all you wanted. ;)

Maybe I just didn't understand the controls, though, but I don't seem to have much control over when I ascend/descend - my angel has too much momentum to gauge accurately when I need to click. Also, sometimes souls and demons overlap; shouldn't be too hard to prevent that from happening.

Last but not least..."Your a demon". Better hire a good proofreader next time. ;) (Yes, I'm offering.)

IgIzzy says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:35am

Good catch! This is the result when I try to get sneaky and dev during family visits haha! I fixed it and updated the source and web player files. I also added the remaining builds for osx and linux. The feedback is greatly appreciated. I’m glad my bad art has been fairly well received (for what it is..haha)!
I modeled the controls off of the magnetic suit buff in Jet Pack Joyride. I enjoy it, but I do feel it needs work. It feels fairly close to the original mechanic, but in the way that I am using it there needs to be more control. I feel that the max ascend/descend speed is appropriate, but it feels loose on the transitions. From feedback watching family members play it, it’s the transitions that take too much time to give enough accurate control to the player.
Izzy

shatterhand says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:38am

Web link is not working here!

Benjamin says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:25am

@shatterhand there's one too much "http/" to delete in the url.

My best score is 13 souls it works pretty well and the acceleration make you want to take a lot of risks in early game which is good.

For the control you should add that left button "switch" between ascend and descend mode. Without that people will try to play this in flappy bird mode. you could also add an arrow in the ui showing your current direction (up/down)

IgIzzy says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:35am

Whoops, fixed the web link. I had thought that the player moving was enough of an indicator, perhaps I should toggle the text at the bottom to show what they can do when they click. So when you are ascending it says press left mouse button to descend, and the opposite when descending.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]