Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Transceiver

by AtsK - Jam Entry

*Disclaimer* The first build went up ~4 and a half hours after the deadline. So I don't know if there is much reason to rate it and one would probably still not call it a full game but I would still appreciate the feedback. Thank you. */Disclaimer*

Sail the seas with a wind propelled ship and build a power grid to power up the mysterious hub.
Running on Unreal Engine 4 built for Windows x64.

Controls:
-Gamepad left stick left and right controls rudder, keyboard A and D or left and right arrow
-Gamepad right stick controls camera, Mouse move
-Gamepad A to enable/disable power node spawner, Spacebar
-gamepad Right trigger or keyboard S or down arrow to slow down


Version 1.1 is visually much brighter and thus more readable. There are some gameplay and other visual tweaks as well. Download this version if you want a better ambient experience, but know that I know that this is very much going against the good practices.

*Edit from comments*
-The binaries are located in: TranceiverGame\Tranceiver\Binaries\Win64
-For the .dll isseus: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=40784

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#39Mood(Jam)4.00
#44Graphics(Jam)4.42
#260Audio(Jam)3.33
#522Overall(Jam)3.00
#532Theme(Jam)2.79
#572Innovation(Jam)2.70
#708Fun(Jam)2.27

Comments

stink123456 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:08pm

How to i open the game? Its a weird compressed folder i downloaded without any exe

stink123456 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:11pm

TranceiverGame.rar\TranceiverGame\Tranceiver\Binaries\Win64
found the exe location

parahunter says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:37pm

Tried to run it but said it needed MSVCR120.dll. I'm on windows 7 ultimate

Takashy87 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Doesn't work for me, getting a error about a missing MSVCR120.dll <_< (Windows 7 64 bit)

sekaru says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:06pm

In terms of mood and aesthetics it's superb but like you said it really lacks gameplay.

Torandi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:12pm

For you who get the error about msvcr120.dll, install vs2013 redist: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=40784 (not sure if you need x86 or x64, depends on the game)

Torandi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:16pm

(I played 1.1) Really nice visuals, the wood texture on the boat, and the boat model itself was really nice. Though as others said it lacked gameplay.

Magdev says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:28pm

Good feelings from this

Boberro says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:30pm

Wow. Graphics and sound are excellent.
Good luck with next LD. It's enough time to practice game and project planning (something I need to do myself)

Lvyn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:42pm

Nice sound graphics and mood but that's more a visual experience than a game it needs some gameplay ! ;)

AtsK says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Thanks for the feedback and for submitting the .dll fix!
The initial idea was to make an atmospheric puzzle game/experience. Movement and base mechanics/systems got in and so did a subset the visuals but actual puzzle implementation did not. Just ran out of time to add enough substance, there is always the next LD then.

Toubib says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:19pm

no idea how to play it, can't find any .exe

ponk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:28pm

WoOoww! Impressive graphic and atmosphere

JetL33t says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:23am

Mood and graphics are fantastic! Quite impressive and disturbing atmosphere coming from those inductors.

udo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:01pm

Hey, I can't play this since it's Windows-only, but I just wanted to say how immensely cool those screenshots look!

Xgor says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:13pm

It has amazing atmosphere, but not much of an game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]