Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Precipice of Eternity

by tjp7154 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first entry for Ludum Dare! A novice making (complete) games, but a good experience nonetheless! Ran out of time, so I'm stuck with placeholder graphics, sadly and the game is definitely rough around the edges. I think it's good overall for my first time!

Action/Puzzle/Adventure

Goal: Reach the Precipice of Eternity and conquer your fears!

Do in your dream what you can't do in your physical form!

Controls:
up/down/left/right - move (physical / spirit)
spacebar - action button, interact with objects

Hint: If you're stuck, push through walls in spirit form, open doors, collect the green star thingies...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2075Coolness14%

Comments

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:14am

I got stuck :/ I included it in part 6 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/v1uehyKcvFY

okeedokeben says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:53am

I conquered my fear! Very ambitious! It's a great story and fits the theme very well. It's hard to know what to do, but it was pretty rewarding once I figured it out. Thanks!

ShadowStryker says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:55am

I got stuck and the game froze as well. I applaud you for being the only one I've seen so far to interpret the "Connecting Worlds" as the real world and dream world. I really liked the concept.

The Evil Cult says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:43am

I did not quite complete, but it was a good challenge making it as far as I did. Thanks for the game.

tjp7154 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Thanks for the comments! I accidentally made the boss "easy mode" by giving him only two hits worth to kill d'oh >_<

Tanser says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:32am

Got stuck but overall the idea is nice. :)

Stan Sypek says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 2:19am

Couldn't find the boss, but had fun looking for him. Great little game for a first time.

tjp7154 says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 3:47am

Yeah, I unfortunately couldn't devote more time because of other things going on. I hope to simplify things next time...

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]