Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Holiday Hero

by PunkerellaSummers - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Sorry guys, didn't notice the lag till I uploaded and by then I didn't have time to try and fix it :( And to anyone with the "more challenge" comment, I was planning to hide the creatures and boards in bushes and stuff... I just ran out of time :)

This is the second game I have made using Stencyl. (I made one last Ludum Dare too, though I haven't used it since.)

Thanks for playing!

Music: I just played some notes on the buttonbass.com keyboard for the attempt at music, and then used http://www.bfxr.net/ for the sound effects. Alterations and such where made with audacity :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#35Graphics4.29
#667Audio2.50
#758Theme2.94
#962Fun2.56
#962Innovation2.56
#977Overall2.76
#1948Coolness22%

Comments

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:50am

Love the graphics :D

Endurion says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:51am

Nice little game, but there doesn't seem to be much of a challenge.
Moving (and dangerous) enemies would be a nice addon.

NickFrushour says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:52am

I like the holiday-themed areas. Very cool

superzac says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:52am

Firstly I like that you used holidays as your worlds to connect, instead of planets. I like the game, especially because the visuals are relatively unique.

tiff says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:52am

The screenshots look great!

tiff says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:53am

The screenshots look great! I tried to play, but I couldn't get into the game. I love the art though.

Roknsk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:54am

Well kind of confusing. Good graphics.

Jaenis says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:56am

Nice little game, great graphics indeed :)

Mr.Cassels says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:00am

loved the art and your take on the theme. adding even a *little* obstacle or challenge in each world would have been nice, as would more audio, but I was loving the charismatic and goofy style all the way through.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:01pm

The graphics are really good and it shows that you gave a lot of care to them.

anssipe says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:00pm

No idea what this game was about, but it looks nice.

hbocao says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 3:24am

Nice graphics. I just couldn't understand why I had to pick up items. The only challenge is to beat up your own time score and don't miss a door. I know you ran out of time. Good job on the work done though!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]