Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Transforce

by ZoneOne2 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A prototype game where forces transfer between levels.
Each level down, time passes at 1/10th the speed of the level above it.
Partially inspired by the movie Inception.


OS/X and Linux users - Use the .love file with the appropriate Love framework found here: https://www.love2d.org/

32-bit Windows users - Use the .love source with the appropriate Love framework found here: https://www.love2d.org/



Ported to work for people without controllers at 12:58AM.

.love file added for Linux and OSX users at 2:31AM 8/25/14.

Added additional instructions for running 11:42AM 8/27/14.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#43Innovation4.08
#239Theme3.68
#324Fun3.32
#486Overall3.28
#587Humor2.27
#642Mood2.88
#738Audio2.35
#1076Graphics2.20

Comments

Piscythe says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:48am

I couldn't play because the game detected a controller when I don't even own one. I've messed with simulating controller input, so maybe it was residue from that.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:53am

Wow, I really like the idea. I didn't read the description here and while I was playing it I thought of Inception, so I can see the inspiration coming through. I wasn't able to get past the third level. I couldn't really get a big enough boost from the side to be able to jump over the obstacle, but maybe it was just my timing.

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:54am

It's diffictult game, but after properly reading the tutorial, it's fun.

BinRoot says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:26am

Hands down the best game I've played so far!

ZoneOne2 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:01am

Thanks, guys!
@DragonMaster21, the controller issue should be fixed now.

ZoneOne2 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:01am

Sorry, meant @Piscythe

headchant says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:19am

If you provide a .love file, Linux and OSX folks could try your game too!

Piscythe says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:24am

It worked that time. The game was frustrating at times, but it was worth it because that was the most innovative idea and best use of the theme I've seen so far. The sounds complemented the experience well, and restart-at-will was a wise decision. I'd love to see this as a full game.

ZoneOne2 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:33am

@headchant Thanks for letting me know! The .love file is now available.

Recon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:39am

Very imaginative! You could improve graphics, and sound, but physics are awesome!

hungyg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:43am

Really cool idea. Timing is everything here. The controls and movement physics could have used some more polish, but great job nonetheless!

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:11am

can't get it to run on linux:

JLib.lua:6: attempts to call field 'getJoysticks' (a nil value)

do I need some joystick lib?

John Drury says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:17am

Very interesting concept. Used xbox360 controller! Could not get past level 3 ;(

magmaCrab says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:28am

Had some fun! did recognize my PS2 controller, but when i pressed the buttons, nothing happened. worked fine with the keyboard.

Healthire says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:37am

So awesome, really innovative concept and fits the theme well. I really enjoyed playing it.

tbamberg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:12pm

Really cool idea, but very difficult to get the timing right!

JackDegree says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:16pm

That moment when the third level appears and you're like... **** how am I going to time this right? Great concept and game, love it. Love the difficulty too, cause it's really about you know getting to learn a new way of thinking.

OFF says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:21pm

The basic idea is awesome but maybe it could be more fun with a less timing based gameplay.
The game is really hard to master, even when you understand how (like with the first 3 level) it's really hard to get the things done... but i'm not a good player! ;)

Actually your main idea is so powerful that you could imagine so many game, even one with interaction between levels.

Great prototype, great job!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Kinda challenging, but well done. I included it in part 8 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/_ZcQE6pTBcc

Boodog says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:34pm

Awesome game! Pretty fun!

leondryaso says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:06am

Very interesting concept. I really enjoyed this game!

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:08am

This game was not too hard, not too easy. Graphics could use a little polish, but hey, what 48 hr entry couldn't? Be proud, good physics game!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:46am

WOW. First time i try mecanics i've never seen before. It's rare and precious. I feel maybe controls don't respond very well. Make more levels, improve graphics and give me the new version please. Bravo.

Marcellus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:06am

Please please please make this game real ! More level, better controls and some music (the graphics are perfect like that) you really got something here that's the best game I've played in this LD.

This is so innovative 5 stars aren't even enough. Congratulations !

PS : jumps sometimes bugs and the vertical bounce is way easier than the horizontal one. But I played til the end and enjoyed it, even if I died like 50 times.

buckslice says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:56am

The second level was harder than the last level imo. Also, the computer key bindings are kind of weird because they are all so close to each other, but nbd. The sound effects were great and the game itself is awesome. Excellente!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:10am

This is crazy inventive. Nice job!
~funkeh

okeedokeben says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:16am

That blew my mind. Awesome mechanic. Would love to see it developed further!

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:00am

Brilliant concept. Personally, I had trouble with the horizontal kicks, but with some polishing this could be really good!

MyougaHiroshi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:23am

can't run as it's not "win32 application"

MyougaHiroshi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:23am

can't run as it's not "win32 application":(

Simon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:25am

This is seriously awesome.

yodamaster says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:28pm

What is a "love" format? Can't play.

kidanger says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:31pm

Very interesting gameplay, nice work!

Aomeas says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:33pm

We must go deeper :D

Goutye says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:59pm

Good idea! I really like your game! Congrats !

Moosefly says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:32pm

The basic gameplay is so intriguing that the fact that it is super barebones doesn't really matter. I'm not sure if I've ever play anything similar and the few levels it had were nicely designed to show of some of the things you can do with the mechanic. Really cool. Worked fine with a PS3 controller using XInput Wrapper for DS3.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

ZoneOne2 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:47pm

@MyougaHiroshi @yodamaster
I've added additional instructions for Linux, OS/X, and 32-bit Windows users if you want to give it another go.

MyougaHiroshi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:25pm

thanks, now it works perfect :D very nice game and great idea, I think it gets quite hard at the first level, what has 3 stages :D

mechabit says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:00pm

Cool mechanics, now get an artist and release this game!

Dohan says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:54pm

The concept is awesome! But for now it's very hard...

lkr says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:39pm

Very interesting and fresh game mechanic :)

The timing felt a bit tight at times, but it was very enjoyable to play through.

Knowledge says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:48pm

It send me message Transforce.exe is not valid Win32 application.

EndingChaos says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:35pm

A fun entry! Great job!

Chaoseiro says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:03pm

Amazing! It is hard to get used to this new mechanic, but it is well done! Please keep making this game :P

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:39pm

That game is just soo awesome! I love force/time games like that. Great job.

ninjascript says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:16pm

I'm not so good at timing those kicks but I really like the concept.

KeyMaster says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:16pm

Oh man this game mechanic is really amazing! Challenging yet satisfying when you get it right! Great job, I hope this will be a full game some time!

paps says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:43pm

One word Awesome. But there is one problem, on the keyboard the choice of keys is not optimal, which make it really hard.
Anyway you can really do something with that proto/concept.
Well done

glbs says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:48pm

At first I thought I wasn't gonna make it through any levels, but the challenge and the fast retry allowed me to practice and improve.
The mechanics are really innovative and challenging, and although this is in fact quite a plain prototype (not much clothing), it is captivating and interesting to play!

jahmaican says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:45am

Needs more work, because it's a really good concept!

HayManMarc says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Neat idea. Needs more explanation at game start. Perhaps a video tutorial.

banana4life says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 2:41pm

Really nice game!

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 8:42pm

Great idea! I think with some refinement, it could be the foundation for a great puzzle game. Currently, I think timing is emphasized too much over puzzle solving. But very innovative. Good job!

klianc09 says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 1:39pm

Plays well with 360 controller. One of the most innovative ideas I have seen this LD. And although it's a prototye it's already a lot of fun.
Would love levels with more worlds... We need to go deeper!

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 11:10am

Great job recreating the dream mechanics in inception. Very fun game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]