Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Spirit Aerie

by tanjent - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Spirit Aerie is my second entry in the LD-compo

In this two-world puzzle game you are a friendly ghost. Your task is to gather animal spirits from the harsh desert and nurture them in your Aerie. If you treat them good, you will make the desert green. When the entire desert is green you win the game!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#188Graphics3.76
#190Audio3.38
#331Mood3.26
#555Overall3.21
#677Innovation3.00
#736Humor2.09
#739Fun2.84
#844Theme2.80

Comments

DrCicero says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 8:56pm

"I am a bit bummed that you really can't 'Game Over' in this game" - I believe it is good design to be unable to game over, for example in an RPG you should not loose your exp but simply retry the battle, and in platformers you should not have to redo the level beginning but simple return to the dangerous spot.

Else your not playing the game, but playing against the saving system.

Your game on the other hand is quite a relaxing game! And i played it 'til the end.
The only thing made me wonder were the tractors in the desert - what do they do?

nonetheless says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:13am

Strange one, original. Nice music.

talecrafter says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:18am

Nice atmosphere.
I couldn't quite grasp how the two puzzles connect. Or if the second room is no puzzle but a resource ... something? Well. :) I had fun nonetheless.

kneeko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:22am

It looks absolutely charming but I'm having trouble loading your site!

gwa says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:24am

Nice game but complicated to understand :) The artwork is super!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:25am

I wasn't sure what to do, but nice art style.

Ben Lehman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:31am

It's a very relaxing game. I played about halfway: I was playing with a trackpad and I probably would have enjoyed it more with a mouse (or on a touchscreen device.) I think that the game mechanics could use a once-through to try to figure out what you want to do. As it is, the amount of time you get from matches isn't really enough to get the same amount of animals: you end up having to do most of your collection with only the two default hourglasses, which is stressful (and thus, kinda runs against the relaxing feel of the game.)

I love the art. The animals are totally adorable~!

I think with polish this could be a very good iOS / android game.

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:45am

Nice art, great game!

Tigro says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:07pm

It's astounding how, despite such simple mechanics, this game sucks you in. The music is perfect and creates such a mood that you feel as if you were partaking in an epic story despite there being none. Congratulations, this game is wonderful.

Daisy64 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:01pm

Graphics are cute and the BGM is very peaceful. Has a very casual feel to the game but it seems like there's an underlying message. It felt at times that the desert would never turn completely green (almost like you're fighting an uphill battle). Very thought-provoking, almost allegorical to the struggle against deforestation/urbanization of natural habitats in some areas of the world. Loved it!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:00pm

The puzzle was fun, but I found the story a bit confusing. Professional graphics and music added to the allure.

Piscythe says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:07pm

That was an interesting experience, once I got the hang of it. I liked the puzzle mechanics, and I don't think a lose state was necessary for this particular game, but I never really got a handle of the exact interaction between my actions and the game world. I noticed tiles getting dropped, and saw the tractors removing tiles, but I didn't understand how my animal nurturing translated into new green tiles. I did play it through to the end, and I was surprised at the tension near the end. "Will I get that last tile THIS time?" I liked the cyclic tension/relaxation dynamic.

jas7229 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:44pm

What a relaxing game! The graphics and music really drew me in, and I ended up playing much longer than I initially thought I would. There didn't really feel like there was a sense of purpose, I think a better expanation of the green room would help. But still quite fun to play (:

gryphoness says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:33am

Could not load... link times out. :(

Ossi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:37am

This was a really fun game! Jumping back and forth between the two areas is a neat mechanic, it really lets you test your memory about the types of animals you need to complete the puzzle. It did take a while to understand some of the game but I got it eventually! Music is nice and the art is beautiful! Great work!

lucidsheep says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:38am

Relaxing! Sort of weird that there's no way to lose.

pythong says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:34am

nice concept
there's a bug in your game: when the grid fills itself from the pond (directly after switching back) and four animals are in a row already, it isn't counted

dustyroom says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:38pm

Weird game, reminds me of Gesundheit. Smooth music!

TrickFishPie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Pretty to look at and a slick match game - wasn't sure how to link with the other world :S

tschmitz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Yeah the link seems to be broken at the moment.

psychonull says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:49pm

the music, mood and graphics works good. it has a nice peace while playing. It took me sometime to understand what to do

BitOfGold says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Very nice atmosphere and background music. It has a strange sad experience, very nice mood!

hogtrick says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Pretty relaxing game. You should have made match 3 maybe. It took some time to understand what I needed to do. The game took so much time to complete too.
But the gameplay is a nice idea. Congrats.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:03pm

Very simple, very relaxing. A charming game.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:28pm

I thought the idea for this game was one of the most original ones I've seen on here. It was weird in a good way! It took me a long time to beat. You made a good choice in music as well. I wish you luck!

Zolmeister says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:10am

Nice music, though hard to understand the game itself

Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:24am

A solid entry! High-quality graphics and music really helped support the game. My main issue was with the gameplay: needing to do a sliding tile puzzle over and over again in order to click on stuff really fast didn't work well for me, and I felt like the three possible rows of hourglasses were kind of mocking ._. I would have liked it if there were more skill involvement than speed-clicking--like combos being unnecessary to advance, but somehow helping you out, something like that. As-is there was only that one gameplay element where you could actually do any better or worse, and though I made it to the end I wanted to give up when I realized that the tractors were bulldozing my work and there was pretty much nothing I could do about it :S

I agree with the other commentors, though. Polished up, this is definitely something I'd play on mobile. Really relaxing.

Galdon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:24am

It was good in the beginning, but it would probably have been better if it was shorter, or changed things up as it went. After solving how the puzzle works, having to repeat the motions countless times to win feels more like a chore than a challenge.

H1S2 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:25am

And so the desert was green again. Yay!
Nice game - keep going.

stvr says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:00pm

"This webpage is not available" :(

mechabit says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:34pm

Like the little ghost and nice concept!

tanjent says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Great comments so far, they make a lot of sense and really resonates with my own thoughts. With some distance I feel like I would have needed a week or so of refactoring/rethinking the game mechanics, because one part is very relaxing and the other is very stressful (which I'm not really sure is what I want) I think the match 4 need some extra stuff to be more interesting and the second room could need some more "dimensions" too. If you have any ideas for improvement - just write em down :) Thanks so much!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:51pm

Hi there. Was having fun matching 4 and collecting again. Nice look and feel to the UI. Good job!

Posva says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:05pm

You did very good job with graphics on this one :O
The concept is simple yet funny. It doesn't have an end though, right?
I found a minor bug, nothing special: when picking the pieces from the table, when these come to the first table and you directly get 4 in the same row, they don't trigger anything

dunin says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:40pm

simple and relaxing game. Need to be polish...

AlbertoSM says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:05am

Nice little game, the pacing can be kinda slow (I couldn't get to the end, maybe the desert grid was too big and therefore it would take a lot of time repeating the same task in order to fill up the entire desert in green).
I do like the music and the aesthetics! :)

bluesky says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:18pm

this game is awesome. Really nice done!

MrP123 says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Very nice game!

garygreen says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Nice puzzler - it took me some time to work out what to do though. It would have been useful to have some indication of how well I was doing - I didn't know if I was making enough progress. Really liked the hand drawn graphics and the music.

01010111 says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 8:03am

I'm getting a DNS error trying to access the game :(

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]